Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
I made this after a friend made a similar recipie, but this one was soooo moist & yummy! I took some to work & everyone keeps asking when I am going to make it again...I honestly prefer this to regular cake recipies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
These were a big hit for the under 3 crowd, and especially for the egg-allergic playmate who could finally have what everyone else was having! Definitely make again over other chocolate cake recipes. I made a couple of dozen cupcakes with these, baked at 10 mins. I may cut down on the oil next time, as they didn't take well to a dusting of powdered sugar (got all melted and shiny, but still tasty). So eash!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
I made this cake for my son's first birthday because he has many food allergies that prevent him from eating a lot of store-bought food. I was so happy to find this recipe. I changed the vegetable oil to canola oil, which didn't make any difference. I made a simple icing using canola oil, powdered sugar, cocoa, and water. The cake is now a favorite at our house. It is a delicious, low-fat dessert that everyone can enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I love wacky cake and it is easy enough for the kids to make, too! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Finally the cake I used to eat as a kid in school! Excellent! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
My mom is a proffesional cake decorator who uses boxed mixes, and I told her to try this! This is the best! It reminds me of devil's food because it is a little reddish in color. This recipe is suitable for vegans and it's perfect for camping trips (dutch oven) and emergency food supply since nothing spoils!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I've been making this recipe for years now and I loooooove it! I make mine in a 9 inch cake pan for 25 minutes though. That way, the center stays just slightly gooey. So simple and doesn't make a big mess. Best when served warm with homemade whipped cream or cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
Made from ingredients that are always in the cupboard, even simpler than a boxed mix and tastier too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I thought this recipe was lost to us forever! My sister (who could burn water) used to make this all the time, but messed it up. When she made it, it would BOUNCE! If you do not sift anything & beat the mixture way too long (we THINK this is what she did) it becomes very dense & when dropped (or thrown at your siblings) it bounces. I just made this again after 30 some years, but got a wonderful fluffy cake, I'm going to try to repeat the "bouncing cake" I remember from so long ago! I will let you know what happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
It was very simple to make and turned out soft and spongy and raised well , enough so i could create a layer cake. I used Fat Free cool whip (Kraft) for icing both layers which gave a nice contrast to the looks and taste.I sifted the dry ingredients , dusted the pan, used Wax paper in the base of cake pan and scaledthe recipe to 16 serves,baked in a heart shaped tin . Believe it or not ureally mix with a fork, no vigorous whipping required. poor stamina in 34th week pregnant- no issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States