Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Just like my mom's recipe! It was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALMEMOORE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I give this recipe 5 stars because for the ease of making, great taste and texture, you just can't beat it! My mom always made this when I was a kid. She would sprinkle confectioner's sugar on and that is how I serve it, as well. I made the 9x13 version today and cut it into squares and froze it for quick snacks for my children. Next time, I am going to bake cupcakes to freeze so that I can pop them in their lunchboxes for special treats. I love that you can mix this in the pan, that it is very inexpensive to make, and most of all, that it really tastes fantastic. There is no reason for me to buy a boxed mix again! This is just as good and is fine for kid's birthday cakes. I made a couple of substitutions: I bake with a mixture of 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 wheat flour. I also used 1/2 milk and 1/2 water to make it more nutritious. I have never tried it with the coffee, but plan to try that sometime. I think with coffee as the liquid and a rich frosting, this would also be fine as a grown-up dessert for company. LOVE this recipe! (Also thinking it could be scaled down to be a "cake in a cup" recipe for the microwave...although it's so easy it's worth just making it as is!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I wasn't sure about this cake to begin with, but a friend told me about it so I gave it a try. What a delicious cake! Moist and chocolatey, oh so yummy. And I topped it off with an almond glaze. My mother in law loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by little.mrs.h

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is the exact recipe my mom gave me for wacky cake. The same cake we had in school during the 60's. My mom worked for the Newport Mesa School district in the kitchens and that is where she got recipe from. One of the attributes of this cake (and the reason it was called wacky cake) is because any time during the baking you can remove it from the oven, bake something else, then replace it back to finish cooking and it does not change or hurt the finished product at all. This is what my mother told me. True? I assume so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBRIDINGER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Amazing!!! I needed a recipe for my sons school as there are egg allergies and WOW this is great. Think I'm going to start making this instead of my reg chocolate cake!!! I didn't add oil instead I used apple sauce and added some chocolate chips!!!!!!!!! Amazing Thanks sooooo much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This cake is hands down the best homemade chocolate cake I have ever baked! Beats any boxed variety or recipe, including those made with butter and eggs! I made two of these today. The first I followed the recipe exactly except I used distilled white vinegar instead of cidar. I was reluctant to follow the steps and just beat everything together in a bowl, but I didn't and followed the directions and I'm glad I did. This recipe requires VERY little mixing. Over mixing will result in a less airy cake. Don't mess it up! I frosted this cake with the frosting found on a texas sheet cake recipe from this site, per another reviewer. AWESOME COMBO! The second cake I made, I omitted the cocoa and oil, and instead used 2 mashed ripe bananas in their place and about 1/2 tsp. allspice. I sprinkled the batter with walnuts before baking. Absolutely fantastic! Thanks for the recipe, I don't think I could ever go back to a boxed cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
almost the same as mine ~ Try coffee instead of water and ~ sprinkle it very liberally with cinnamon sugar before baking. makes a nice SWEET crust that complements the chocolate and coffee flavors. That's how the fam likes theirs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Eh,this recipe was not as good as the Wacky Cake I remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I grew up with this cake! Mom always made it when someone dropped in unexpectedly, for a quick dessert.As did my "gram" before her.my kids always loved it and I made it just last week for the grandkids its a big hit with them too. they even wanted to take what was left home!so four generations give this recipe a BIG thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mehoney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Merritt, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I just want to add my raves for this recipe. It is the first chocolate cake recipe given to me by a friend when I was a newlywed over 40 years ago. My husband and I loved it then for its deliciousness and its size (just right for 2), and the whole family loves it now for its taste, its moistness, and its ease of making with the kids. It doubles great, so am making it for a crowd today. We usually ate it without frosting, because it's so moist and yummy on its own - and we're not big frosting eaters. So glad to find it online, as I haven't made it for a while and have no time to scrounge for the piece of paper I wrote it on years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States