Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Perfect as is! I tried it with some of my leftover homemade frosting. The cake brought back so many memories of when I was a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herriman, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Photo by Barefoot_Gypsy
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I was low on ingredients and wanted a good dessert so I thought I'd give this a try. I didn't have cider vinegar, so I used regular white vinegar and per other reviewers I made it with coffee instead of plain of water. I've also made it per the recipe, and either way it was great. I was so surprised. I baked it in an 8 inch round pan and then iced it with the creamy chocolate frosting from this site. It made for a really rich, decadent, and most importantly EASY dessert. This is now my family's favorite cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barefoot_Gypsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Andalusia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
One of the most delicious and moist chocolate cakes I have ever tasted! I decided to make this after reading the other reviews, and I just have to add my own 5-star review to this one. Easy to make, minimal cleanup (just the pan and a fork), and delicious. I brought this to work and everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Delicious! I make this all the time. It is my go to recipe for a quick dessert. I pour texas sheet cake icing over it while it's warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I have made this several times, and this time, I decided to eliminate the cocoa. I used milk as the liquid, although I have used coffee when making the chocolate version. It's so versatile, cheap and easy. Especially the vanilla version would be great with fruit of any kind: for example, drained crushed pineapple, using pineapple juice for the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalie Hinson
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Need to experiment with it... good, but not enough flavor... will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
What can I say but "Delish"! I doubled the recipe, used a 9x13 pan and finished it off with "Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze" from this site.(I ran out of confectionary sugar to make my usual frosting.) I also mixed all the dry ingredients and added them to the wet ingredients using separate bowls. I brought it to my bible study group and the young boys were fighting over the crumbs that were left in the pan! This is an easy fabulous cake. I was asked to make this again. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
very good! i had to use regular white vinegar because i didnt have any apple cider vinegar, but the cake was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilysmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I have been eyeing this recipe for a long time and have decided to finally make it this morning. Without reading the instructions first, I asked my 2.5 year old if he wanted a 'Schokokuchen' or 'Schokomuffins' and he opted for the latter. I did the measuring and he did the stirring. I used what I had on hand, that is, white distilled vinegar for cider vinegar, and sunflower oil for vegetable oil. The batter tasted a bit sour but the end result was perfect. Not too sweet and just the right amount of cocoa. I evenly divided the batter into 12 silicon lined muffin cups and baked for about 20 minutes or so. I let them cool a bit before popping them out of the silicon cups. They were a huge hit with my two small boys!! They turned out fluffy and moist. I wonder how they would taste with raspberry or strawberry jam injected in the center and topped with a vanilla mascarpone frosting on top. I admit that I usually have a hard time finding a good chocolate/cocoa recipe, but this is a keeper! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is definitely better the second day. I had a piece when I first made the cake and was NOT impressed. Tasted like it was missing something. But the second day it was very good -- moist and flavorful. My adult son really likes it. I sprinkled cinnamon on top, then powdered sugar. I'll make this again, for sure -- but a day ahead of when I want to eat it! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States