Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I used to make cupcakes and they came out a little dry...HOWEVER, I can work with that in future experiments. I added a tsp of cinnamon for flare, I'd like to try adding some cayenne and maybe subbing the oil for applesauce. For the most part, my nut/milk/egg allergic son - LOVED this recipe and that alone makes me happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Antonio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Thank you. I finally found my mom's wacky cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
1000% better than ones purchased from store getting rave reviews for their vegan chocolate cake.. not to mention a lot cheaper and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This is the moistest, easiest chocolate cake I've ever made. I've only made one better chocolate cake in my life and it was about 20X more complicated than this. I love it! I used the "hard chocolate glaze" from this site to frost it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
very good. i love how easy and quick it is. i made the recipe as is but added a handfull of chocolate chips, after the other ingredients were mixed, for just a little something extra. will use again. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
My family love this cake. The only thing the recipe I have has different is 1/2 soda, but it turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I burnt this cake by accident (my fault) I made cupcakes and forgot to reduce the time, anyway EVEN burnt this was soo delicious! We ate it anyway, didn't even need frosting! By far the best cake recipe I have ever tried! thank you! I will make this for my daughters birthday in 2 weeks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I was skeptical about a cake with vinegar, but it works! Good and surprisingly moist without eggs or milk. I did follow other reviewers and use some coffee for the water, about 50/50 ratio. It really is a great size for our smaller family. I did not have to bake it as long as the recipe said, only about 25 min. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I will never make my old chocolate cake recipe again. This was mixes, poured and done in no time. The only change I made was mixed it in a bowl and uses 3/4 cup coffee and 1/4 cup water. Made 30 mini cupcakes on 350 for 10 minutes. They were gone soon after. I simply topped with Cool Whip. My son had a good idea of filling regular sized cupcakes with the Cool Whip and topping with Powdered Sugar. I was worried about tasting the coffee but NO ONE had a clue it was in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marriage Officiant Samantha Wa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbin, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
The only way I can get this recipe to work is to double it. The first time I made it it was way too dry, but it's because the recipe as posted is only half a batch. The pan I put it is was too big and I cooked it too long! If you double this recipe you can put it in a regular size cake pan and it should turn out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States