Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Very good recipe for making with kids because it's safe to lick the batter spoon! This came out great, almost indistinguishable from our regular choc. cake recipe. Very dense and moist. We added extra cocoa powder, vanilla, and used melted coconut oil for the oil. I frosted i and am storing it in the freezer to keep it nice longer, just thaw 15 min before slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I have made this cake many times, and it comes out great every time. I have shared it with my sisters and they both love it too. I can't say enough about the wacky cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sha
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
That makes a really good cake. I tried it yesterday for the first time. The cake was gone in an hour :) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montpellier, Languedoc-Roussillon, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I mixed all of the ingredients in a bowl, and used the batter to make cupcakes. I yielded 30 cupcakes out of the doubled recipe. I was pleased with how good it tasted. The texture was very good as well- I never would've guessed there was no eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYWR
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This recipe was our family favorite for entire family. We all LOVED it. My mother would dust the warm cake with confectioner's sugar. I still make the cake but have changed one ingredient... I use Coconut Oil instead of vegetable oil (just warm the coconut oil in the microwave for 30 seconds to liquify). It is incredible with vanilla or coffee ice cream! I also make this cake with gluten free flour for my daughter...it is still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Great recipe for kids and beginning bakers! It was one of the first recipes I ever mad by myself as a child, from a Depression-era cookbook. It also makes a good 1st Birthday cake for a baby -- with no eggs or dairy. It was great to find the recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestmom2three
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
i am 13 and love this cake i like that it takes no eggs thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
considering the ingredients it turned out great and is very easy to make but regarding its taste i'd op for the 'normal' all inclusive ingredient type anyday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Nwankwo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I used to make this with my mom when I was growing up. I think we used white vinegar though. Glad I found the recipe here. I am going to continue the tradition with my grandkids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ripon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I used to make cupcakes and they came out a little dry...HOWEVER, I can work with that in future experiments. I added a tsp of cinnamon for flare, I'd like to try adding some cayenne and maybe subbing the oil for applesauce. For the most part, my nut/milk/egg allergic son - LOVED this recipe and that alone makes me happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Antonio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States