Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Amazing!!! I needed a recipe for my sons school as there are egg allergies and WOW this is great. Think I'm going to start making this instead of my reg chocolate cake!!! I didn't add oil instead I used apple sauce and added some chocolate chips!!!!!!!!! Amazing Thanks sooooo much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This cake is hands down the best homemade chocolate cake I have ever baked! Beats any boxed variety or recipe, including those made with butter and eggs! I made two of these today. The first I followed the recipe exactly except I used distilled white vinegar instead of cidar. I was reluctant to follow the steps and just beat everything together in a bowl, but I didn't and followed the directions and I'm glad I did. This recipe requires VERY little mixing. Over mixing will result in a less airy cake. Don't mess it up! I frosted this cake with the frosting found on a texas sheet cake recipe from this site, per another reviewer. AWESOME COMBO! The second cake I made, I omitted the cocoa and oil, and instead used 2 mashed ripe bananas in their place and about 1/2 tsp. allspice. I sprinkled the batter with walnuts before baking. Absolutely fantastic! Thanks for the recipe, I don't think I could ever go back to a boxed cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
almost the same as mine ~ Try coffee instead of water and ~ sprinkle it very liberally with cinnamon sugar before baking. makes a nice SWEET crust that complements the chocolate and coffee flavors. That's how the fam likes theirs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Eh,this recipe was not as good as the Wacky Cake I remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I grew up with this cake! Mom always made it when someone dropped in unexpectedly, for a quick dessert.As did my "gram" before her.my kids always loved it and I made it just last week for the grandkids its a big hit with them too. they even wanted to take what was left home!so four generations give this recipe a BIG thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mehoney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Merritt, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I just want to add my raves for this recipe. It is the first chocolate cake recipe given to me by a friend when I was a newlywed over 40 years ago. My husband and I loved it then for its deliciousness and its size (just right for 2), and the whole family loves it now for its taste, its moistness, and its ease of making with the kids. It doubles great, so am making it for a crowd today. We usually ate it without frosting, because it's so moist and yummy on its own - and we're not big frosting eaters. So glad to find it online, as I haven't made it for a while and have no time to scrounge for the piece of paper I wrote it on years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
ok.. this recipe is a life saver and very forgiving (forgot to sift the ingredients). Quick and easy. It has become a favorite at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
for the ease and minimal ingredients, a great go-to recipe! moist and dark and entirely satisfying. i sprinkled a big handful of semi-sweet choc chips over the top and swirled a bit to incorporate. they turn into melty pockets of chocolately goodness. i also subbed half the oil with mashed bananas, did half whole-wheat flour, and half splenda. it made me feel less guilty about eating nearly half the pan within half an hour. also used cold coffee instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Pretty good. Made this with almond icing. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
The recipe is wonderful! If you were like me you are probably wondering how there are so many great reviews for a cake without eggs, milk, or butter. Just give it a try! It is VERY moist, maybe a bit too moist for people who like their cake firm, but if you aren't particular, you will LOVE this recipe. My dad was skeptical until I gave him a piece (I made some simple coconut icing) and he said it was amazing! Not to mention it is probably the easiest cake I've ever made. I will definitely be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyStardust09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States