Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This recipe for "wacky cake" was in the back of an American Girl book my daughter had. We tried it and thought it was excellent. Last weekend, I made a two-layer 1/2 sheet cake for my husband's boss' appreciation party. I wanted the bottom layer to be chocolate, so I used this no-fail recipe. Moist, chocolately, delicious - a winner every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Citrus Punch
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was so good! I took the advice of others and made an icing of powdered sugar, margarine, milk and icing, but I also added a splash of vanilla. Everyone in my family agreed this is a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I LOVE this recipe. It's one of the few things I can make for some of my vegan friends or if I happen to be out of milk and eggs. There are a few things I have changed: I use canola oil instead of vegetable oil, and I sometimes substitute the 1 c. water for 1 c. brewed coffee (hazelnut flavored) and sprinkle it with cinnamon sugar before baking. Both the original recipe and this variation are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This cake is outstanding, bakes up well and you would never guess it doesn't have egg, butter or dairy. I love it because no egg, butter and dairy = no cholesterol! Simple to make and ingredients are always on hand. I use chocolate extract and substitute coffee for the water. I can't say enough good things about this cake and make it often with different frostings!! (It's best after it sits for a day)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I was a little nervous to try this recipe at first, but it is amazing. It rises almost as well as a regular cake, but it tastes just like one. I had someone tell me that it is probably the best cake they'd eaten! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I followed the directions to the letter, but the cake tasted awful. Not even the kids would eat it. It was slightly better the next day, but I still wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
PERFECT! I've made other versions of this cake before but needed one that made a smaller cake and I'm glad I chose this one! I did need to make some substitutions as I realized I was out of some ingredients after I started making the cake. Used white vinegar instead of cider vinegar..didn't make any difference. Also didn't have enough vegetable oil on hand so I used applesauce..ended up using 3 Tbsp oil and 3 Tbsp applesauce. Both worked just fine! Love this cake! Perfect size for 2 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I made cupcakes and baked them for 25 min. as others suggested. The cake was very chewy and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is great! I worked with a lot of people with food allergies and this was perfect! I used canola oil instead of vegetable oil and it seemed to make it a little lighter. Plus I made them as cupcakes like another user said. (375 for 25 minutes)And I put chocolate frosting that I made ans substituted vegan butter and soy milk. I'll use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Thank you! Thank you! An allergy family's dream come true! Most egg-free cakes taste like "egg-free" cakes. You can't tell the eggs are omitted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States