Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Delicious! Didn't have eggs or milk, but I was craving something chocolate. I really cannot believe how yummy this cake is! I used white vinegar because it's all I had. This is definitely a keeper! Btw, it's identical to the Vegan Chocolate cake on this website. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I love this cake. I've made it now several times. My 2 year old little girl is allergic to milk. I first found it when looking for a milk free cake recipe for her first birthday. It's now a regular treat in our house. I just made it again tonight. I have my family making it too. We all like it better than a boxed chocolate cake. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUST404

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I read on here the reason one person thought it was called Wacky Cake was because it could be taken out of the oven and baked more when time permitted...Wow! didn't even know that. I always assumed it was because there were no eggs, milk or butter in the recipe. This was a cake my mom made for us growing up in the 60's and 70's. My whole family LOVED it. Who woulda known we were eating "health food"? Now my husband has to watch his cholesterol and I love to bake. Made this for him and he was sooo happy :) I didn't know that you could omit the cocoa for a white cake. I will definitely try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theres44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
not so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very moist and easy. Not sweet enough for my family's taste. Will probably make again but add some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmysmom28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Yummy! Moist and fudgy. I replaced half of the oil with applesauce, which I usually do when I bake, and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CupcakePolly
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I really wanted to bake something last night only to find i had 1 egg and no pb. so even no bakes were out. Then i remembered about this recipe in my box. I was a little scared off by the cider vinegar and well i've never made a no dairy no eggs cake ever. This recipe just blew me away. It was dark really dark it rose well and it it super moist. I used 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup of strong coffee. Like amother reviewer did. But i'm sure just water would have been great. This recipe beats any chocolate cake i've ever made. I'm sharing a piece of it right now with my almost 2yr old. When he took his first bit he kept saying Hmm. I'm going to be coping this recipe into my personal recipe book. Its that incredible! thanks you much Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This recipe for "wacky cake" was in the back of an American Girl book my daughter had. We tried it and thought it was excellent. Last weekend, I made a two-layer 1/2 sheet cake for my husband's boss' appreciation party. I wanted the bottom layer to be chocolate, so I used this no-fail recipe. Moist, chocolately, delicious - a winner every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Citrus Punch
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was so good! I took the advice of others and made an icing of powdered sugar, margarine, milk and icing, but I also added a splash of vanilla. Everyone in my family agreed this is a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I LOVE this recipe. It's one of the few things I can make for some of my vegan friends or if I happen to be out of milk and eggs. There are a few things I have changed: I use canola oil instead of vegetable oil, and I sometimes substitute the 1 c. water for 1 c. brewed coffee (hazelnut flavored) and sprinkle it with cinnamon sugar before baking. Both the original recipe and this variation are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States