Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This cake is outstanding, bakes up well and you would never guess it doesn't have egg, butter or dairy. I love it because no egg, butter and dairy = no cholesterol! Simple to make and ingredients are always on hand. I use chocolate extract and substitute coffee for the water. I can't say enough good things about this cake and make it often with different frostings!! (It's best after it sits for a day)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I was a little nervous to try this recipe at first, but it is amazing. It rises almost as well as a regular cake, but it tastes just like one. I had someone tell me that it is probably the best cake they'd eaten! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I followed the directions to the letter, but the cake tasted awful. Not even the kids would eat it. It was slightly better the next day, but I still wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
PERFECT! I've made other versions of this cake before but needed one that made a smaller cake and I'm glad I chose this one! I did need to make some substitutions as I realized I was out of some ingredients after I started making the cake. Used white vinegar instead of cider vinegar..didn't make any difference. Also didn't have enough vegetable oil on hand so I used applesauce..ended up using 3 Tbsp oil and 3 Tbsp applesauce. Both worked just fine! Love this cake! Perfect size for 2 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I made cupcakes and baked them for 25 min. as others suggested. The cake was very chewy and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is great! I worked with a lot of people with food allergies and this was perfect! I used canola oil instead of vegetable oil and it seemed to make it a little lighter. Plus I made them as cupcakes like another user said. (375 for 25 minutes)And I put chocolate frosting that I made ans substituted vegan butter and soy milk. I'll use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Thank you! Thank you! An allergy family's dream come true! Most egg-free cakes taste like "egg-free" cakes. You can't tell the eggs are omitted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This cake is moist, dense, and flavorful, my whole family including my cake-critic husband LOVED it. When I first made the cake, I omitted the cocoa to make a white cake and it was great. I think it would work well as an all-purpose cake recipe where you could add flavors as desired (cocoa, spices, almond, etc). I also think it would work well as a substitute pound cake since it is so moist and dense - but doesn't have all that butter. We are using this instead of boxed cakes from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This cake is by far the BEST plain-old chocolate cake ever! It is moist & dense & even better when aged a day or 2. Easy to dress up with a handful of chocolate chips or dried fruit, and bake in a fluted pan. I usually make with white vinegar instead of cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
The only problem was that I accidentally overcooked mine so it was a bit dry. I put in a toothpick and it came out wet so I decided to wait a tiny bit longer. Max 4 minutes longer. Somehow that was too long! Strange. This recipe is also very good if you add some dry cherries in. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi_in_Toronto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States