Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I was excited about this recipe because it is so simple and cheap and people seem to love it! Just perfect for what I'm looking for since I bake cakes to sell here in Central America. I wanted to make a kind of chocolate cake (real chocolate is so expensive here) and the ingredients seemed so perfect. But unfortunately I was not so happy with the result. It did rise very nicely but I found the taste rather bland. It lacked a lot of sweetness and chocolate flavour for me. I think I will try this recipe again but changing it up a lot, for example add banana, like one reviewer suggested. I think that would make it much nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Excellent cake! I also use this recipe for muffins sometimes adding a ripe banana or 2 to it and have recently tried it minus the cocoa but with grated apple and cinnamon. It stays very moist and delicious for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Delicious! Made a single layer heart shaped cake with PB icing. Hubby loved it. Next time maybe more chocolate or 1/2 coffee to enhance the chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ralloyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Very good recipe! I mix it all up in a bowl first and then pour it into a greased pan. Also made a glaze with 2 Tbsp. butter, 3-4 Tbsp. cocoa powder, 3/4 cup powdered sugar and 3Tbsp hot water. Melted the butter, added the cocoa and then the powdered sugar. Added the hot water to smooth it out. Pour on warm cake and let cool. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Absolutely PERFECT!!! Delicious, moist and - SO good! Loved it & will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenGuru

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Delicious! Didn't have eggs or milk, but I was craving something chocolate. I really cannot believe how yummy this cake is! I used white vinegar because it's all I had. This is definitely a keeper! Btw, it's identical to the Vegan Chocolate cake on this website. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I love this cake. I've made it now several times. My 2 year old little girl is allergic to milk. I first found it when looking for a milk free cake recipe for her first birthday. It's now a regular treat in our house. I just made it again tonight. I have my family making it too. We all like it better than a boxed chocolate cake. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUST404

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I read on here the reason one person thought it was called Wacky Cake was because it could be taken out of the oven and baked more when time permitted...Wow! didn't even know that. I always assumed it was because there were no eggs, milk or butter in the recipe. This was a cake my mom made for us growing up in the 60's and 70's. My whole family LOVED it. Who woulda known we were eating "health food"? Now my husband has to watch his cholesterol and I love to bake. Made this for him and he was sooo happy :) I didn't know that you could omit the cocoa for a white cake. I will definitely try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theres44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
not so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very moist and easy. Not sweet enough for my family's taste. Will probably make again but add some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmysmom28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States