Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Very nice and moist. Has a smidge of an off taste but once frosted that's hardly noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
The only things I would change are using 3/4 cup of sugar, 1/3 cup of cocoa and 5 tablespoons of oil. This is a super cake, especially warm with ice cream or whipped cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Delicious! The only change I made was to use a cup of cold coffee in place of the water...soo good! I also recommend chilling the cake before serving...so moisi it doesn't need icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gglorybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This is just ok. I didn't have eggs so there you go. Satisfied the sweet tooth and was palatable...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
My mom made this cake often when I was growing up and it's great to find it here. The recipe is only slightly different from my mom's. She used only 5 tablespoons of oil and she used white vinegar rather than cider vinegar. We usually serve this cake warm, with peppermint frosting. My mom described the history of the recipe slightly differently. She's a vet from WWII and explained that the cake was named Wacky Cake in honour of the WAC (women's air corps) women who developed the recipe. Milk and eggs were scarce during the war.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Best.cake.Eva!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAUGHN76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Grew up with this cake. Love it. Also, it's one of those cakes that doesn't need any frosting. It is so moist that it's better without. We make a vanilla version of this also by omitting the cocoa and doubling the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Perfect as is! I tried it with some of my leftover homemade frosting. The cake brought back so many memories of when I was a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herriman, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Photo by Barefoot_Gypsy
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I was low on ingredients and wanted a good dessert so I thought I'd give this a try. I didn't have cider vinegar, so I used regular white vinegar and per other reviewers I made it with coffee instead of plain of water. I've also made it per the recipe, and either way it was great. I was so surprised. I baked it in an 8 inch round pan and then iced it with the creamy chocolate frosting from this site. It made for a really rich, decadent, and most importantly EASY dessert. This is now my family's favorite cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barefoot_Gypsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Andalusia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
One of the most delicious and moist chocolate cakes I have ever tasted! I decided to make this after reading the other reviews, and I just have to add my own 5-star review to this one. Easy to make, minimal cleanup (just the pan and a fork), and delicious. I brought this to work and everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States