Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I used to make this with my mom when I was growing up. I think we used white vinegar though. Glad I found the recipe here. I am going to continue the tradition with my grandkids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ripon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I used to make cupcakes and they came out a little dry...HOWEVER, I can work with that in future experiments. I added a tsp of cinnamon for flare, I'd like to try adding some cayenne and maybe subbing the oil for applesauce. For the most part, my nut/milk/egg allergic son - LOVED this recipe and that alone makes me happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Antonio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Thank you. I finally found my mom's wacky cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
1000% better than ones purchased from store getting rave reviews for their vegan chocolate cake.. not to mention a lot cheaper and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This is the moistest, easiest chocolate cake I've ever made. I've only made one better chocolate cake in my life and it was about 20X more complicated than this. I love it! I used the "hard chocolate glaze" from this site to frost it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
very good. i love how easy and quick it is. i made the recipe as is but added a handfull of chocolate chips, after the other ingredients were mixed, for just a little something extra. will use again. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
My family love this cake. The only thing the recipe I have has different is 1/2 soda, but it turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I burnt this cake by accident (my fault) I made cupcakes and forgot to reduce the time, anyway EVEN burnt this was soo delicious! We ate it anyway, didn't even need frosting! By far the best cake recipe I have ever tried! thank you! I will make this for my daughters birthday in 2 weeks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I was skeptical about a cake with vinegar, but it works! Good and surprisingly moist without eggs or milk. I did follow other reviewers and use some coffee for the water, about 50/50 ratio. It really is a great size for our smaller family. I did not have to bake it as long as the recipe said, only about 25 min. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I will never make my old chocolate cake recipe again. This was mixes, poured and done in no time. The only change I made was mixed it in a bowl and uses 3/4 cup coffee and 1/4 cup water. Made 30 mini cupcakes on 350 for 10 minutes. They were gone soon after. I simply topped with Cool Whip. My son had a good idea of filling regular sized cupcakes with the Cool Whip and topping with Powdered Sugar. I was worried about tasting the coffee but NO ONE had a clue it was in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marriage Officiant Samantha Wa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbin, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States