Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This was EXCELLENT! I used a gluten free flour blend and added 1 1/2 tsp. xanthan gum....perfect! I've been going crazy trying to come up with a tasty birthday cake recipe for my son with multiple food allergies....this was perfect! I used the One Minute Chocolate Icing recipe from this site, and the entire family loves it! I have also doubled this, put into a Wilton character pan (greased and floured) and had great results as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This is moist and great. I put 1/2 cup water 1/2 cup brewed coffee instead of 1 cup of water and it's even more chocolaty. I ice this with the icing from a Texas sheet cake (you cook it and pour it on hot and let it set up). Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I made this for my Dad's 60th. Wacky cake is his all time favorite, so when I couldn't find our family's recipe I used this one. It was outstanding! The cake was so moist and chocolatey. It's now the new family recipe. For any newbies to wacky cake, don't shy away from this recipe because it doesn't contain eggs or milk...It's a really good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I must have done something WRONG because my cake didn't rise at all. Every indentation I made in the batter before I baked it was still there when I took it out. Not tasty. Not really food. Where did I go wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Lovely. Low fat and delightful. My mother, who loves chocolate and hates copious amounts of sugar, loved it, though we both agreed we would cut down the sugar next time. It was certainly one of the finest homemade recipes for chocolate cake I've found yet. Moist, dense but not heavy, and delicious. Not to mention very little mess. I loved not having a clutter of pans and bowls in the sink afterwards. I will be using it again....and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Moist, dense, and yummy. My 4 year old helped make it because it was so easy, but was sad that that was no bowl to lick. I, however, love that there are no beaters or bowl to clean! So fast, easy, and yummy, that it's dangerous to my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Great cake to make when you don't have alot of ingredients on hand. I made cupcakes, and they disappeared like magic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This cake turned out great! Our boys are allergic to eggs so I used this recipe for their birthday cake. I topped it with a homemade chocolate fudge frosting and sprinkles. The boys and everyone else loved it. Thanks...I'll be making this one for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Excellent! I made it for a nursing friend that's on a dairy-free, egg-free diet for her sensitive baby. Very chocolaty and moist! I poked a few holes in the top with toothpicks and poured a powdered sugar glaze over it while it was still warm. Better than "regular" cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochran, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Oh my goodness!! This recipe is amazing. I couldn't find my wacky cake recipe, so I went online to see what I could find. BETTER then the recipe I used to use. This is definately a keeper. MANY MANY comliments. Made this cake for my mom's birthday. You have to make this cake with an almond extract icing. Icing sugar, margerine, a little milk and some almond extract. Make the icing first, then add a little almond extract at a time until desired taste is reached. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States