Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Did not really believe that this recipe would turn out soooooooo good, but after reading all the reviews, I thought I would give it a try. The only thing I did differently was to use white vinegar because I did not have the other kind and I added chocolate chips, sprinkled them acros the top, then swirled them in with a knife. This cake turned out absolutely delicious! I also used a chocolate buttercream frosting from the site to frost this cake, although I think it really did not need the frosting. I can see how this cake could be eaten up very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Love this recipe and have made it many times as written, it is so very yummy. But I have been trying get a little more healthy, so I have been fiddling with the recipe. I substituted half white whole wheat flour, dropped the oil to 3 tablespoons, added 3 tablespoons of unsweetened applesauce and used granulated Splenda instead of sugar. I also added 1 teaspoon of molasses, as I like brown sugar with chocolate. I was not really hoping for much, but oh my - it was fabulous - soft and tender, fine-grained and moist. I would never have guessed, if I did not know, that it was made with Splenda and whole wheat. Will try next time to use all whole wheat and lower the oil content to maybe one tablespoon. It did seem to take less time to bake both times I have made these changes, only about 23 minutes, I assume because of the lack of sugar, so watch for that. To me, this cake only needs a glaze or powdered sugar on top - I made a quick bowl of frosting, but it was too much for the delicate cake. If you have dietary or caloric restrictions, give these changes a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Purvis Waters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Good cake considering the ingredients. Definitely eat once it's cooled. I could taste the vinegar when it was warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aleemas
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I absolutely loved your recipe, made it a dozen time already....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
It didn't rise at all, tasted like CARDBOARD and glue. I followed this recipe exactly except for the cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Jeter-Minick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
My mother made this cake almost every Sunday evening for desert during WWII and it became the family favorite. I have had to make copies of the recipe for all daughters in law and granddaughters as well as several friends. They can't believe the ease of mixing it and lack of normal ingredients. We usually ate it warm right out of the oven with "oleo" on it. She also had a spice cake recipe that called for dark syrup instead of sugar for sweetner. Sugar was rationed. There was no crisco, either. It is quite moist also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Simple .. foolproof .. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Oh my gosh, this is so good.. my husband & family used to make wakey cake alot when we were young in the 70's. I lost that recipe twice..so glad it was here. I was trying to make something for dessert & ran out of eggs.the almond extract is an awwesome change. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Excellent and easy-remember science class when making a volcano erupt with baking soda and vinegar!! It appears to make this cake light and airy. Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I was disappointed in this recipe. It didn't rise and I felt that the apple cider vinegar came through too much. The taste is okay but the vinegar smell nearly ruins it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Erwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States