Wacky Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Confusing recipe. Not sure how much cocoa powder goes in cake or frosting? Don't think ingredients are listed in proper order?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I used to bake this cake 50 years ago when I was in high school. I think my grandma showed me how. It's very good. I baked it in a loaf pan this time so I could do an Ina Garten dessert that uses melted vanilla ice cream on the bottom of a shallow dessert bowl. Add about a 1" slice of cake on top of the ice cream and sprinkle with fresh raspberries. Stupendous! It comes off as a really fancy dessert and no one will know it's melted ice cream if you don't tell them. The ice cream tastes like as a fancy cream of some kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KRISTINH472
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Made this yesterday to take with a meal I had made for another family. I had no eggs left so this was perfect. I made it in two 9 inch (?) round pans so I could keep one for us and give one away. It baked around 23 minutes and probably could have baked a few more minutes, but it was super-moist, which was great. I cannot imagine a 9 x 13 being done in 20 minutes like the directions say. It really is as easier than a cake mix (which I try to avoid) since you just measure and stir. No mixer needed. My husband asked what kind of chocolate I used since it was very chocolately. Just cocoa! The frosting is a really good one. I had doubts about putting it on the warm cake but it held up wonderfully. I ended using around 3 cups of powdered sugar. I will definitely make this again. I used to write menus for senior centers where lunch was served. I put wacky cake on the menu and it was always well liked. It was rarely served with frosting since it's such a moist cake. But...I like frosting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Tasty? Sure. especially since I was craving chocolate cake but did not have eggs or sweetened condensed milk. A few notes: 1. I'd rather dirty the extra dish and mix it in a bowl. I made a mess mixing it in the pan and my cake did stick a little. 2. The bake time was WAY off. I ended up baking it for 37 minutes. 3. I only made half the icing (Because I only had about 1 1/2 of powdered sugar. I think I would have liked it with all of the icing better. :D Over all a great cake when you're out of eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
One of my all time favorite recipes from my mom! We don't grease the pan but mix the dry ingredients directly in it. That saves you from dirtying an extra dish. The cake doesn't stick to the pan. Everything else is done the same. I also use a different frosting for this cake. 1 c. powdered sugar, 1/3 c. cocoa, 3 T. water, pinch of salt, 1/2 tsp. vanilla, 1/4 c. soft butter. Wait until the cake cools before frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
this is awesome!My mom use to bake this when we were toddlers,like over 50 yrs and we still love it..We sometimes sprinkler icing sugar instead of icing.Or we use a stencil with icing sugar for themes..One of the best cakes around and so simple...even my kids and granddaughter loves this cake when I bake it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
For having no eggs and butter this cake is really quite good. I made cupcakes out of it and they turned out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I tried this one day when I was short on ingredients, and it has since become one of my few regular recipes. It is moist and delicious, and easy to make. I only make half the icing, and it is quite adequate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This cake was very easy to make. I thought I would try a recipe without eggs in it, however, it just tasted like something was missing. I think I will try a different recipe next time!! (its good for people that are allergic to eggs) Although I thought it tasted almost like brownies. It's a good brownie cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
My god!! This was the most awesome eggless chocolate cake I've ever tasted!! Everyone ate it right up, there wasn't even a crumb left! And the icing complements the cake perfectly too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States