Wacky Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Wonderful. Easy to throw together. Can't taste the vinegar at all. I usualy make homemade cream cheese frosting to go ont op of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Declan's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Very YUMMY cake! I mixed everything in one bowl in order given. Great because you don't need to grease and flour the pan! And I used the advice of another reviewer, coffee instead of water! It makes the chocolate much more flavorful without tasting like mocha. It was a perfect Valentine's day dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Caramela
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Followed the recipe to the T! This cake baked beautifully, and it was very nice. The proportions of the frosting ingredients sound a little bit wacky, but they work; nevertheless, I think I will try a different frosting next time as this one is VERY sweet. Thanks for this interesting recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was my Mom's go-to cake while I was growing up. Can't count how many times we baked this together. Sigh... Only changes are: I use 3/4 cup melted crisco instead of the butter and I use a different frosting. Important note: The cake does NOT taste good when it is slightly warm, so even though you might be tempted to cut into it and steal a slice right away, hold off. You will be grateful. I don't know whether it takes the cool down for the vinegar taste to go away or what, but this is horrible when warm, DIVINE when cool. The cake holds up really well to layering. I have been asked for this recipe so many times - my Mom would be proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORIEJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Corby, Northamptonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Frosting tips: Use hot coffee instead of water. Add a big tablespoon of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Awesome! Very moist. Everyone loved it and it was so easy! If your cake bakes higher in the middle, pour your frosting there first and more than one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Made this cake last week for my family (minus the icing). It was absolutely the best cake! I have never made a cake from scratch before and this was better than any cake from a box. Definitely will be making it again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Very nice!! I didn't have enough butter so i used a combination of things to make the 10tbs. I used butter, butter spread, and a couple tbs olive oil. My cake only took 20 minutes to cook and i used a 9x13 pan. Provided my own frosting. It tasted fine to us warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
excellent! I, too, chose to make a homemade buttercream frosting but love the cake--we never have eggs readily on hand and this tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YVONNETOND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder, butter instead of margarine, and white wine vinegar instead of distilled (milder). Mixed in separate bowl. Baked for 30 min. Added one tsp vanilla to the to the frosting. Best eaten next day: rich, chocolately, dense, moist. Yes frosting was sweet but matched intensity of cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States