WWII Spam and Egg Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I actually grew up with my Mom making this on a regular basis because she grew up with HER Mom making it on a regular basis. The only change Mom made was using gov'ment cheese, she spread mayonnaise on the bread before making the sandwich, and sometimes, she would add lettuce. It was ALWAYS specifically on cheap white bread. I can't think of anything more comforting than this sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I love this sandwich and have passed the recipe to other spam lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I guess if you never had Spam (or don't like it), this may not sound good. But, trust me, it is great! A perfect quick meal sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyTiger3m

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
My husband surprised me with this new recipe for lunch today and it was great! I LOVE SPAM! This was a fun twist to the usual ketchup and spam sandwich i've grown up on. He used Mozzarella cheese instead of the American.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seashell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Great sandwich, quick to fix on a night when you get home and think oh no what's for dinner?!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Followed the recipe as written, toasted the bread (we used Arnold's Sandwich Thins). It was tasty, but I guess I'm not a huge Spam fan because I didn't love the flavor. I liked the tomato in it to help balance the saltiness in the meat. It was something different, and if you've got spam to use a good way to use it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
It was good but not soooooo good. Not sure i I'll make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I have been eating Spam for 70 years and I still like. The only change I make to this recipe is I put it on a toasted bagel. I take it for breakfast on day bus tours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Pretty good actually. I don't mind Spam but it's a bit boring, so I like finding other things to do with it that are still easy to make. The bread definitely needs toasted. Didn't like it as well with the tomato but that was OK too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Not big Spam fans, but ~Taylor Ham~ worked really well. Kids loved this breakfast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States