WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I wanted to re-review this terrific recipe and add that I keep oatmeal that I grind up into flour that I use in this recipe with great success. The cookies are very tender and soft rather than crunchy. Instead of the whole 2 cups, I add 1 3/4. I have also successfully used craisins when I found out I was out of raisins and it was still very, very good. Still an awesome, 5 star recipe. Grandma definately knows best-and this recipe publisher gets my whole family's thanks for sharing it. My daughters and I baked these after reading Molly, the American Girl who's father was in WW11, and she had to ration sugar. Even if your not crazy about molasses-you will find these the very best cookie recipe any grandma or mom could pass down. It's a hands down winner with all 9 members of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
These are SOOOO good!!! They're so soft and....fluffy! I replaced my shortening with butter and added 1/2t each of cloves and cinnamon, but kept everything else the same. This is going to replace my current oatmeal cookie recipe. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
In my quest to try to eliminate white sugar, these really got my interest! In addition to the molasses called for, I used only half the sugar and substituted half a cup of high quality 100% maple syrup instead. I also used half whole wheat flour instead of all white, plus I threw in a 1/4 cup of flax seeds. I also chopped up dark chocolate and added it because...I felt like it!! These are excellent tasting cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I recently bought steel cut oatmeal, only to find out that I don't like it. So I found this recipe and figured I could use the oatmeal up this way. I wasn't sure if it would work for oatmeal cookies because it isn't instant oatmeal, but given this is a WWII recipe, I'm guessing they didn't have instant oatmeal back then either. I was pleasantly surprised. The steel cut oatmeal lent itself to a cookie with a bit more crunch, yet still being chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
These cookies were wonderfully soft and tasty! I only used walnuts and I put in a little more then the recipe called for. I like my cookies really soft, so I took them out right at 10mins and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELLE04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Did not like this recipe at all....they have all the ingredients for a good cookie, but they are too dry...maybe instead of dropping by teaspoon using a tablespoon would have produced a bigger cookie and therefor more moist...:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Great cookies! I've made these several times now without butter or shortening substituting applesauce instead and they come out as a great tasting healthy treat before my runs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Illinois, USA
Living In: Guyton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is a simple cookie, but delicious. My Grandma made cookies very similar to this when I was growing up and she'd tell me stories about her childhood. I make them now to be closer to her and to pass down the same memories to my children. These will be dear to me for that reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
These are delicious. I added about a teaspoon of ground cloves, pecans instead of walnuts, and I soaked the raisins before adding them. I didn't have light molasses so I used 3 tablespoons of regular. I also used butter instead of shortening, and baked them for 9 1/2 minutes. They were crisp on the edges and chewy in the center. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
YUM! I added 2 tsp of cinnamon to this recipe, used 3 T of dark molasses and 2 T of light corn syrup, did not add walnuts or raisins. Ended up flattening the cookies a bit half way through baking the first batch. They turned out very well! Will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BluJaysGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States