WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
They're okay, but I found the molasses flavor to be too strong. Replacing 1/2 c of the shortening with applesauce and just using 1/4 c of shortening works well if you want to make it a bit more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
My husband and I both loved these cookies. I have made them several times now, and they turned out great each time. Thanks so much for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I made these a few days ago and we like them. My neighbour loved them and wants the recipe. I froze half and will be giving them to my kids as school snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I love these cookies. I added 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg, 1/2 teaspoon of ground clove and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. I substituted Smart Balance Original Blend for the shortening with great results and a healthier cookie. If you use Smart Blend don't use the "lite" version, you can't bake with it, but I have had great results with the original blend in many of my baked goods. I also added walnuts and dried currents. The cookies are chewy and moist. It occurred to me that maybe cooks in the forties and during wartime didn't have access to alot of spices like cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Hockla

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Added pinch of cinnamon and cloves. DH and son loved them, I thot they were so/so, maybe too much salt, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
these are great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pontiac, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
These are wonderful. Soft and chewy. Attempting to use what was on hand and avoid a trip to the store made the following changes: butter instead of shortening, 1 cup brown sugar instead of molasses, dried cranberries instead of raisins, chopped pecans, and followed the advice to add cinnamon and cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Different but good! I took others' suggestions, 2.5-3T of dark molasses, 1.5-2T Lt Corn syrup, 1t each of Cinnamon & Grnd Cloves. I also added 1c chopped Walnuts and only 1/2c sugar. It wasn't very sweet but just right for those like my hubby who don't like things sweet. This can be a good yet bad thing, we ate more of them in one sitting than most cookies we eat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I took these cookies to a church social...they were a hit (didn't have any to take home - darn!). The only changes I made was a few suggestions from others: I used 3 TBSP dark molasses (since that was all I had) and added 1/2 tsp. cloves. The cookies were much more tangy and interesting than regular oatmeal cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
i made these for my dad. he loved them because they didnt have any butter in them.we all loved them too.not because they didnt have any butter in them, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States