WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I was pleased to see this recipe as I wanted to make some molasses cookies.... I use rye flour rather than wheat which works well here.... I used chopped candied pinnaple instead of sugar & dark molasses which I had on hand.... result was a very rich "grown up" cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This recipe is perfect just the way it is! A lot of people "tweaked" it, but in all honesty I tried it just the way it is written and nothing needs to be added, deleted or changed in any way = thanks@@!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
So chewy and moist!! Love the subtle taste of the molasses :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I customized them with cinnamon and they were good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I made two batches of these this week, the first sticking closely to the recipe. It was good, and I loved the chewy texture of the cookies. The only issue I had was that the shortening tasted kind of strong, especially right after they were baked. Maybe my shortening was funky, but I'll try it with fresher stuff next time. The second batch I made with Earth Balance butter substitute and used half white/half turbinado sugar. These were fluffier cookies, more like the ones in the picture. The turbinado gave a really nice crunch, and the butter sub made these a bit crisper. Either way, it's a very good recipe and the cookies got raves all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I used 1/2 c white and 1/2 c brown sugar. I couldn't see these with all white. These cookies were okay. I found them a bit dry, nothing special. I may try them again with just the white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
ok ... goute bcp la melasse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
VERY GOOD! I was looking for an oatmeal cookie that didn't use butter because I didn't want to run to the store. This recipe was perfect. I was surprised how nice they held their shape and were so tasty. Thank you Diana S. for sharing such a VERY GOOD recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is a great recipe! I substituted Splenda for the sugar and added dried cranberries and raisins. Verrrry tasty!~ Thank you!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Pretty good and super easy. I made a few adjustments... I cut the white flour in half and added 1 C whole wheat flour Added one additional cup of oatmeal I made half the batch with chocolate chips, the other half with raisins and chocolate chips I used regular unsulphered molasses, no light molasses in the pantry I only gave it four stars because the flavor is pretty plain. I'm going to play with this one some more, maybe cinnamon and butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States