WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I don't know, these were ok. chewy and soft, but not very oatmeal-y, and kind of bland I thought. I used butter instead of shortening and I added raisins and walnuts and chocolate chips, eh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Excellent! Nice and crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I used full molasses because I didn't have light, so turned down the temp 25 degrees and cooked about 11 minutes (to avoid overbrowning). Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SELUNE13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
These turned out amazing, I accidentally added the sugar to the rest of the dry ingredients but it turned out just fine. I baked part of the batter and froze the rest for later since its just my husband and myself. They were fluffy, soft and just tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellowsnikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Great cookies! I've made these several times now without butter or shortening substituting applesauce instead and they come out as a great tasting healthy treat before my runs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Illinois, USA
Living In: Guyton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Very tasty! We did do some modification since we were looking for a way to boost our twins iron intake- it greatly increases the molasses taste, so be careful if you aren't used to molasses! Modifications: Swapped quick oats for Old Fashioned long cook. Swapped Light Molasses for Unsulphered Black Strap Molasses. (says on label, signifigant source of Iron, Calcium and Potassium) Left out the Walnuts Added 1/3 cup of sugar (only because I forgot and put the sugar in with the dry ingredients and not with the wet- but in retrospect, I'd add it again.) In the future, I'd dust these all over with powdered sugar. These are a great favorite and will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BruiserMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
They're okay, but I found the molasses flavor to be too strong. Replacing 1/2 c of the shortening with applesauce and just using 1/4 c of shortening works well if you want to make it a bit more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
My husband and I both loved these cookies. I have made them several times now, and they turned out great each time. Thanks so much for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I made these a few days ago and we like them. My neighbour loved them and wants the recipe. I froze half and will be giving them to my kids as school snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I love these cookies. I added 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg, 1/2 teaspoon of ground clove and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. I substituted Smart Balance Original Blend for the shortening with great results and a healthier cookie. If you use Smart Blend don't use the "lite" version, you can't bake with it, but I have had great results with the original blend in many of my baked goods. I also added walnuts and dried currents. The cookies are chewy and moist. It occurred to me that maybe cooks in the forties and during wartime didn't have access to alot of spices like cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Added pinch of cinnamon and cloves. DH and son loved them, I thot they were so/so, maybe too much salt, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States