WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I made two batches of these this week, the first sticking closely to the recipe. It was good, and I loved the chewy texture of the cookies. The only issue I had was that the shortening tasted kind of strong, especially right after they were baked. Maybe my shortening was funky, but I'll try it with fresher stuff next time. The second batch I made with Earth Balance butter substitute and used half white/half turbinado sugar. These were fluffier cookies, more like the ones in the picture. The turbinado gave a really nice crunch, and the butter sub made these a bit crisper. Either way, it's a very good recipe and the cookies got raves all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I used 1/2 c white and 1/2 c brown sugar. I couldn't see these with all white. These cookies were okay. I found them a bit dry, nothing special. I may try them again with just the white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
ok ... goute bcp la melasse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
VERY GOOD! I was looking for an oatmeal cookie that didn't use butter because I didn't want to run to the store. This recipe was perfect. I was surprised how nice they held their shape and were so tasty. Thank you Diana S. for sharing such a VERY GOOD recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is a great recipe! I substituted Splenda for the sugar and added dried cranberries and raisins. Verrrry tasty!~ Thank you!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Pretty good and super easy. I made a few adjustments... I cut the white flour in half and added 1 C whole wheat flour Added one additional cup of oatmeal I made half the batch with chocolate chips, the other half with raisins and chocolate chips I used regular unsulphered molasses, no light molasses in the pantry I only gave it four stars because the flavor is pretty plain. I'm going to play with this one some more, maybe cinnamon and butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This is a big hit in my house! I did use butter insetad of shortening (cause if your going to be eating fat, then eat good tasting fat!) and about 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Will be making these a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
made with butter and cardamom. absolutely awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Tasty, quick cookie. I subbed applesauce for 1/2 c. of the shortening, and just used 1/4 c. regular shortening. I also used half whole wheat and half white flour and cut the sugar to 3/4 c. and it was plenty sweet for us! My one year old couldn't stuff his face fast enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I don't know, these were ok. chewy and soft, but not very oatmeal-y, and kind of bland I thought. I used butter instead of shortening and I added raisins and walnuts and chocolate chips, eh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States