WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
My cookies weren't as puffy as other featured photos but still very good. I overcooked my first batch and then got the hang of it. For me, they were perfect after 10 minutes! I like a soft textured cookie. I didn't have raisins so I used craisins which I plumped in hot water for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I liked 'em, but they were kinda bland. I used 1/4c butter, 1/4c margarine & 1/4c shortening, reduced salt to 1/2t, added 1/2t cinnamon & 1t vanilla (Love my vanilla!). Used 1/4c molasses. Really made to use up my molasses, which it did; & I may make them again - depending on how they are once they cool. Good, but not great. Made 4 1/2 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe! Just the right amount of molasses and oatmeal. I added mini semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of the raisins...MY NEW FAVORITE!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I was pleased to see this recipe as I wanted to make some molasses cookies.... I use rye flour rather than wheat which works well here.... I used chopped candied pinnaple instead of sugar & dark molasses which I had on hand.... result was a very rich "grown up" cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This recipe is perfect just the way it is! A lot of people "tweaked" it, but in all honesty I tried it just the way it is written and nothing needs to be added, deleted or changed in any way = thanks@@!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
So chewy and moist!! Love the subtle taste of the molasses :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I customized them with cinnamon and they were good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I made two batches of these this week, the first sticking closely to the recipe. It was good, and I loved the chewy texture of the cookies. The only issue I had was that the shortening tasted kind of strong, especially right after they were baked. Maybe my shortening was funky, but I'll try it with fresher stuff next time. The second batch I made with Earth Balance butter substitute and used half white/half turbinado sugar. These were fluffier cookies, more like the ones in the picture. The turbinado gave a really nice crunch, and the butter sub made these a bit crisper. Either way, it's a very good recipe and the cookies got raves all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I used 1/2 c white and 1/2 c brown sugar. I couldn't see these with all white. These cookies were okay. I found them a bit dry, nothing special. I may try them again with just the white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
ok ... goute bcp la melasse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States