WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, exceot added cinnamon. In my opinion, toomuch flour and dough was dry. Have had much better oatmeal cookie recipes- will go back to my old standby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This is my go-to oatmeal cookie recipe. Oatmeal cookies just don't taste right without molasses, IMHO. I made the following minor changes: 1) I used 1/4 cup of regular, full-flavor molasses. 2) If you miss the flavor of brown sugar, substitute brown for white. It rounds out the molasses flavor, too. 3) As some other readers did, I substituted butter for shortening. 4) I added a scant teaspoon of cinnamon and a dash of cloves. 5) Finally, I substituted one cup of ground oatmeal for a cup of the flour (I like oatmeal!) and dried blueberries for the raisins (don't like raisins). Great recipe--thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Delicious! I used chocolate chips instead of raisins and added 1/4 t cinnamon. My husband and kids asked for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaejae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I ran out of Brown sugar & decided to try this one. It's pretty good, but I do like my mom's better which uses the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAR122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crivitz, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
These were very tasty! I didn't know what kind of "oatmeal" to use, so I used old fashioned oats, since it's what I had in my cupboard. I also couldn't find light molasses, but used mild tasting molasses. The result was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
No need to buy brown sugar...make it any shade of brown you want by adding molasses to white sugar as you need it. I like the idea of oatmeal "flour" to make these cookies. VG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I subbed dates. We thought it tasted great. Like oatmeal cookies, but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I've made several Oatmeal and several molasses cookies but this cookie just didn't turn out well. The cookie needed less molasses, more sugar and more oats I think. I'll keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States