WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Awesome cookie! I was looking for something between a ginger snap and oatmeal raisin & it definitely fit the bill. I added some cloves, ginger and cinnamon to spice it up, as well as replaced the shortening fully with applesauce and it was great. Chewy and yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Not a big fan of molasses, but I had some for another reciepe and decieded to try these to use it up. I had a 1/2 bag of chocolate chips and a 1/2 bag of white chocolate chips I decided to throw in as well and these were wonderful!! Everyone loved them including me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Really "old fashioned tasting" and I mean that in a really good way. Very good. very very good. I'll definitely make them again. Don't overcook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Tasted really bad. Dough tasted really good, but when I cooked them they tasted as if there was to much baking soda in them (and I made sure I put the right amount in).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane_Chefs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
the best ever oatmeal cookies! the molasses taste is not overwhelming, it just gives it a little something...and they came out puffy and soft, each and every one of them! only things i tweaked was no walnuts (my son does not like them in cookies) and doubled the raisins since we all love them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I just made such a perfect oatmeal cookie after semi-following this recipe. However, I didn't use any molasses as I didn't have any on hand. I happend to find the recipe because It didn't require any butter, as I only had a 1/4 cup on hand. I only made a half batch...so my changes refer to a half batch in terms of measurements!!!! Okay, instead of using 2.5 tablespoons of molasses, I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I added 1/4 cup of butter because that is all I had and added lots of pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon to taste....probably a couple teaspoons of both. These cookies are terrific. They hold together well, are soft, and came out the perfect thickness....almost like what you would buy professionally made. I also rolled mine into small 1inch balls before I baked them....Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Just made them, still slightly warm...LOVE this cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Tidbitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winthrop Harbor, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I didn't have any butter in the house so I tried this intriguing recipe. My family, including extended family, conclude that these are the BEST oatmeal cookies they have ever had! & my husband who usually picks out raisins, ate the raisins & all! I made them exactly as written. PERFECT! Thank you for the recipe Diana S!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, exceot added cinnamon. In my opinion, toomuch flour and dough was dry. Have had much better oatmeal cookie recipes- will go back to my old standby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This is my go-to oatmeal cookie recipe. Oatmeal cookies just don't taste right without molasses, IMHO. I made the following minor changes: 1) I used 1/4 cup of regular, full-flavor molasses. 2) If you miss the flavor of brown sugar, substitute brown for white. It rounds out the molasses flavor, too. 3) As some other readers did, I substituted butter for shortening. 4) I added a scant teaspoon of cinnamon and a dash of cloves. 5) Finally, I substituted one cup of ground oatmeal for a cup of the flour (I like oatmeal!) and dried blueberries for the raisins (don't like raisins). Great recipe--thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States