WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I chose this recipe for the oatmeal and the molasses. Oatmeal, a healthy ingredient. Molasses, a flavor we don't find every day. Nuts and raisins added a lot, too. The cookies are great! I appreciate the cook that shares. Thank you, Diana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
very yummy! My son doesn't want the raisins added next time, and my husband said it needed butterscotch chips. I cannot please everyone, but I will make it again. Next time I'm going to add dehydrated apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessiclm
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I don't like raisins so I added a 1/2 cup of chocolate chips instead. I also added 1/2t of cloves and 1/2t of cinnamon (I could have added more because I can barely taste these spices). I used pecans instead of walnuts. These are light and fluffy. The cookies don't spread on the cookie sheet so you can fit a lot on one sheet. This recipe made 52 cookies for me. These are yummy (maybe not mind blowing where I want to call a friend to tell her about them) but definitely a nice twist on just regular oatmeal cookies. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
these are great. I used home made sorghum and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tractormanchris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Made this yesterday. Used butter instead of shortening and had great results. One mistake - I substituted choc chips for the raisins and the taste combination doesn't work out. I'm still giving this recipe 5 stars as with raisins the flavors would be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
These are amazing. I used butter instead of shortening, added pecans and dried blueberries and holy cats they are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Sorry... Tasted weird. I used butter instead and stuck to the rest of the recipe. Not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Great recipe. But, I don't seem to ever be able to leave something alone. I put in about a half cup of Heath chips and 3/4 cup of chopped pecans. I upped the raisins to a cup also. I used Pam butter-flavored spray on cookie sheet and cooked at 375 degrees, not 350 for 10 1/2 minutes. I made dough balls maybe equal to 1 1/2 tbsp so they look a little smaller than a golf ball (though I don't golf so what do I know right?). Anyway, with the mods, I have gotten rave reviews from all of my test dummies. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I have made these cookies several times...with the addition of chocolate and/or butterscotch chips too. EVERYONE loves these cookies, and claim they are best oatmeal cookies ever! Instead of shortening I used butter....and also added some cinnamon. They are soft and chewy and ever sooooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
These were a huge hit. I used dark molasses in an equal amount. (I don't like molasses as a condiment, but it really makes these cookies!) I added cinnamon, eased back on the sugar about 1/8 cup and used apple sauce for half of the shortening (butter for the other half). I spooned by the tablespoon and baked for 10 minutes. It made about 3 dozen plus a couple. They were soft and chewy, but not dense. Might do chocolate chips next time for the kids, but so delicious with raisins! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States