WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Makes fabulous cookies. It is a great recipe as is and a great base for adding in different ingredients like pumpkin and pumpkin pie spice or craisens, pecans, and white chocolate. Never fails no matter how I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This recipe is incredibly good. I only changed a couple things out of strictly personal preference and because of items I had on hand. I used butter instead of shortening, cranberries instead of raisins and I added a half tsp of all spice and a half tsp of cinnamon. The cookies came out so moist and flavorful. I just noticed that another reviewer used applesauce instead of butter...will definitely try that next! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Delicious and easy to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I ended up with dry, raisin-ey hockey pucks.The silver lining is that this recipe made me even more thankful that we won the war.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloverdale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cloverdale, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I added 1 cup raisins, 1/2 cup walnuts, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ground cloves. I made big cookies, baked for 10 min. Came out perfect! Best cookie I've ever baked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Very good. If you like molasses, of course. If you don't, then this recipe is not for you as the strong molasses flavor comes through. I made these as bars for time saving which was good. I also did an experiment: I added coconut, sunflower seeds, and walnuts to 1/2 the recipe. I really liked the version with the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I used 1 1/2 cup flour. I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Great recipe! I tried making it healthier and substituted about 1/2 the shortening for one mashed avocado (or half a large avocado) then filled the remaining 3/4 cup with shortening. Also I didn't have molasses so I used 3 Tb honey and 2 Tb agave (I said I was sort of trying to make it healthy didn't I? lol) and they turned out great! Nice and soft. I'd advise mashing them down a little bit so the inside cooks better. If you want a crunchier outside drop by teaspoon (the uneven edges cook faster and get crunchy leaving the inside nice and soft). If you want the cookies very soft roll in ball form first. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by razzy17

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
These are always well received! I cut back a bit on the oats though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Delicious simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States