WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is a great recipe! I substituted Splenda for the sugar and added dried cranberries and raisins. Verrrry tasty!~ Thank you!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Pretty good and super easy. I made a few adjustments... I cut the white flour in half and added 1 C whole wheat flour Added one additional cup of oatmeal I made half the batch with chocolate chips, the other half with raisins and chocolate chips I used regular unsulphered molasses, no light molasses in the pantry I only gave it four stars because the flavor is pretty plain. I'm going to play with this one some more, maybe cinnamon and butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This is a big hit in my house! I did use butter insetad of shortening (cause if your going to be eating fat, then eat good tasting fat!) and about 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Will be making these a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
made with butter and cardamom. absolutely awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Tasty, quick cookie. I subbed applesauce for 1/2 c. of the shortening, and just used 1/4 c. regular shortening. I also used half whole wheat and half white flour and cut the sugar to 3/4 c. and it was plenty sweet for us! My one year old couldn't stuff his face fast enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I don't know, these were ok. chewy and soft, but not very oatmeal-y, and kind of bland I thought. I used butter instead of shortening and I added raisins and walnuts and chocolate chips, eh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Excellent! Nice and crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I used full molasses because I didn't have light, so turned down the temp 25 degrees and cooked about 11 minutes (to avoid overbrowning). Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SELUNE13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
These turned out amazing, I accidentally added the sugar to the rest of the dry ingredients but it turned out just fine. I baked part of the batter and froze the rest for later since its just my husband and myself. They were fluffy, soft and just tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellowsnikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Great cookies! I've made these several times now without butter or shortening substituting applesauce instead and they come out as a great tasting healthy treat before my runs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Illinois, USA
Living In: Guyton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Very tasty! We did do some modification since we were looking for a way to boost our twins iron intake- it greatly increases the molasses taste, so be careful if you aren't used to molasses! Modifications: Swapped quick oats for Old Fashioned long cook. Swapped Light Molasses for Unsulphered Black Strap Molasses. (says on label, signifigant source of Iron, Calcium and Potassium) Left out the Walnuts Added 1/3 cup of sugar (only because I forgot and put the sugar in with the dry ingredients and not with the wet- but in retrospect, I'd add it again.) In the future, I'd dust these all over with powdered sugar. These are a great favorite and will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BruiserMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States