WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I ran out of Brown sugar & decided to try this one. It's pretty good, but I do like my mom's better which uses the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAR122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crivitz, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
These were very tasty! I didn't know what kind of "oatmeal" to use, so I used old fashioned oats, since it's what I had in my cupboard. I also couldn't find light molasses, but used mild tasting molasses. The result was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
No need to buy brown sugar...make it any shade of brown you want by adding molasses to white sugar as you need it. I like the idea of oatmeal "flour" to make these cookies. VG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I subbed dates. We thought it tasted great. Like oatmeal cookies, but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I've made several Oatmeal and several molasses cookies but this cookie just didn't turn out well. The cookie needed less molasses, more sugar and more oats I think. I'll keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is the third time that I've used this recipe and I love these cookies! They are so versatile and tasty no matter what I do to them. I always used all whole wheat flour, and once I used apple sauce for half of the fat. I've done them with or without nuts, but never with the raisins. No matter how I make them, they are so good and don't last long with my 3 kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Great recipe w/lots of flexibility! In the interest of making this a bit more healthy, I did the following: 1) Whole wheat flour instead of white, 2) Replaced white sugar with 1/2 parts Stevia & brown sugar, 3) Added extra vanilla (recommended by others), 4) Replaced shortening with 1/2 parts olive oil & applesauce, 5) Replaced raisins with dark choc chips, 6) Added 1/2 tbsp cinnamon VERY YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
nice soft chewy cookie! I used dark molasses as that is what I had on hand, still turned out great! thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
My cookies weren't as puffy as other featured photos but still very good. I overcooked my first batch and then got the hang of it. For me, they were perfect after 10 minutes! I like a soft textured cookie. I didn't have raisins so I used craisins which I plumped in hot water for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States