WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Sorry... Tasted weird. I used butter instead and stuck to the rest of the recipe. Not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Great recipe. But, I don't seem to ever be able to leave something alone. I put in about a half cup of Heath chips and 3/4 cup of chopped pecans. I upped the raisins to a cup also. I used Pam butter-flavored spray on cookie sheet and cooked at 375 degrees, not 350 for 10 1/2 minutes. I made dough balls maybe equal to 1 1/2 tbsp so they look a little smaller than a golf ball (though I don't golf so what do I know right?). Anyway, with the mods, I have gotten rave reviews from all of my test dummies. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I have made these cookies several times...with the addition of chocolate and/or butterscotch chips too. EVERYONE loves these cookies, and claim they are best oatmeal cookies ever! Instead of shortening I used butter....and also added some cinnamon. They are soft and chewy and ever sooooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
These were a huge hit. I used dark molasses in an equal amount. (I don't like molasses as a condiment, but it really makes these cookies!) I added cinnamon, eased back on the sugar about 1/8 cup and used apple sauce for half of the shortening (butter for the other half). I spooned by the tablespoon and baked for 10 minutes. It made about 3 dozen plus a couple. They were soft and chewy, but not dense. Might do chocolate chips next time for the kids, but so delicious with raisins! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAPISTRANO1955
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Excellent recipe. So moist. I followed this to the letter and we were thrilled with the results. My husband does WWII models and games and wants me to make a batch for his game night next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAPISTRANO1955

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I added 1 teas ginger, 2 tsp cinammon, and cooked 1 cup raisins in 1/2 cup water. everything else is the same. baked for 14 minutes for a crispy cookie, 12 for soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by September123
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
These cookies were great. Growing up I wasn't much for molasses, but as an adult I thought I might give these a try and now I have to say molasses is yummy. The oatmeal adds a nice texture. I cooked them for 9 minutes in a convection oven and immediately removed them from the baking sheet after. I am so happy I did that because they turned out softer and chewier. Also I used egg beaters instead of whole eggs, that cut back the calories even more, and it didn't compromise the taste. My family thought they were buttery and delicious. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by September123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I agree w/ some other reviewers that these are like "muffinettes" since they are raised more like muffins than cookies. They only add-in I used was a walnut half pushed into the bottom of each cookie. I also added 1 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice to the dry ingredients for a very lightly spiced taste. The simple muffin-y part had a lovely, retro, homey taste and texture, and they are very quick and easy to make. I ate way too many of them while they were warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This is my go-to recipe for oatmeal cookies. I'm so glad I don't need to wade through dozens of oatmeal cookie recipies any more. They do well if you add 1/2 a cup of chocolate chips. I use sorghum instead of molasses and add some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Herseim Beck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Absolutely the best oatmeal cookie ever...I'm 75 now and I've tried them all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States