WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
These are wonderful. Soft and chewy. Attempting to use what was on hand and avoid a trip to the store made the following changes: butter instead of shortening, 1 cup brown sugar instead of molasses, dried cranberries instead of raisins, chopped pecans, and followed the advice to add cinnamon and cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Different but good! I took others' suggestions, 2.5-3T of dark molasses, 1.5-2T Lt Corn syrup, 1t each of Cinnamon & Grnd Cloves. I also added 1c chopped Walnuts and only 1/2c sugar. It wasn't very sweet but just right for those like my hubby who don't like things sweet. This can be a good yet bad thing, we ate more of them in one sitting than most cookies we eat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I took these cookies to a church social...they were a hit (didn't have any to take home - darn!). The only changes I made was a few suggestions from others: I used 3 TBSP dark molasses (since that was all I had) and added 1/2 tsp. cloves. The cookies were much more tangy and interesting than regular oatmeal cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
i made these for my dad. he loved them because they didnt have any butter in them.we all loved them too.not because they didnt have any butter in them, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This cookie was light with just a touch of sweetness. I prefer an oatmeal cookie recipe that includes brown sugar. 3 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Really great, soft cookies. I added cinnamon and cloves. Replaced the shortening with butter (simply because I did not have shortening). Turned out wonderful. I intend to make these often and for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 777Penny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I subbed butter for shortening and brown sugar for white. They stayed nice and fluffy. Great cookies and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Very good recipe! However, I made some changes per reviews! I used 3 T. molasses and 2 T. light corn syrup. (The wife is not to crazy about molasses but loved these after this change)! Also, I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup, then added 1/2 cup of maple syrup, added 2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp ground cloves, cut vanilla down to 1 tsp, added 1 tsp almond extract, used butter instead of shortening, and used 1 cup white flour and 1 cup wheat flour. These changes made this a Awesome recipe! Thanks Diana for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrol J. Unruh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is a simple cookie, but delicious. My Grandma made cookies very similar to this when I was growing up and she'd tell me stories about her childhood. I make them now to be closer to her and to pass down the same memories to my children. These will be dear to me for that reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Very yummy! I made a couple changes: I had blackstrap molasses (dark) so I used 3 tbs. of it and increased the sugar by a 1/2 cup. I also added 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice (cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger) and a little less than 1 tsp of nutmeg. In addition, I added 1 tsp of almond extract and just 1 tsp of vanilla instead of 2. The cookies came out very flavorful, moist, and dark because of the molasses. I couldn't go by color to figure out when these where done, but by flatness. I took them out after they had puffed out a little, before they flattened out, because the directions said to let them cool on the cookie sheet for 5 minutes and I figured they'd cook a little more. So I took them out at 9 minutes. I didn't get a flat, thin cookie like I do with the Quaker recipe! I think people who like a mild cookie would not like the way I made them and should stick closer to the recipe, but if you like flavor and spice, you should like my alterations. Only reason I didn't add that 5th star is that I think they're a tad too oily. I used butter instead of shortening for health reasons, but I think a 1/2 cup would have more than done the trick rather than 1/3 cup that the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States