WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
These cookies were wonderfully soft and tasty! I only used walnuts and I put in a little more then the recipe called for. I like my cookies really soft, so I took them out right at 10mins and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELLE04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
These cookies are fantastic. I can't keep them in the jar! The molasses provides a unique taste that compels you to keep eating more cookies! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farmersdaughter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
these cookies are definitely addictive. almost dangerous - but don't let that stop you from making them! i did make a few alterations: i added 1/2 tsp of both cinnamon and ginger, only used one tsp of vanilla, used butter (smart balance) instead of shortening, and used about 2.5 tbsp regular molasses. they turned out excellent. thank you dls58.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Cookie was really moist and flavourful, especially if you like molasses cookies. I didn't bother to sift the dry ingredients and instead just dumped all but the oats into the wet ingredients. Stirring the oats in at the end worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Excellent cookies - took them to my book club and they were a hit! Plus they're great for little kids as they are nice and soft. Thanks for a wonderful recipe - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
These are delicious. I added about a teaspoon of ground cloves, pecans instead of walnuts, and I soaked the raisins before adding them. I didn't have light molasses so I used 3 tablespoons of regular. I also used butter instead of shortening, and baked them for 9 1/2 minutes. They were crisp on the edges and chewy in the center. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
As written, I have to give this 4 stars (actually 4 and 1/2) because I found the cookies a bit too salty, but otherwise perfect. I also added about 1 teaspoon of Pampered CHef's cinnamon plus (cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice). I used butter flavored Crisco and chopped walnuts (no raisins). My daughter helped chop the walnuts and ended up pulverizing half of them, so I actually had something more like walnut flour. I cooked the first batch for 12 minutes and the following batches for 10 minutes (since they went onto a hot stone they required less baking time). The cookies are pleasantly crisp on the outside and amazingly soft and chewy on the inside. Next time, I am going to try to reduce the salt to 3/4 teaspoon and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
These cookies may become a favorite of mine. I know other people made changes but I followed the recipie and found the cookies to be soft and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KingsHorses
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This is a really great recipe! They are very moist and chewy and even better the second day! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingsHorses

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
For personal taste, I added a tsp of ground cloves, cinnamon and ground ginger. The final result was an extremely soft, flavorful cookie. Will definitely make, again. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States