WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This is my go-to oatmeal cookie recipe. Oatmeal cookies just don't taste right without molasses, IMHO. I made the following minor changes: 1) I used 1/4 cup of regular, full-flavor molasses. 2) If you miss the flavor of brown sugar, substitute brown for white. It rounds out the molasses flavor, too. 3) As some other readers did, I substituted butter for shortening. 4) I added a scant teaspoon of cinnamon and a dash of cloves. 5) Finally, I substituted one cup of ground oatmeal for a cup of the flour (I like oatmeal!) and dried blueberries for the raisins (don't like raisins). Great recipe--thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Delicious! I used chocolate chips instead of raisins and added 1/4 t cinnamon. My husband and kids asked for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaejae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I ran out of Brown sugar & decided to try this one. It's pretty good, but I do like my mom's better which uses the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAR122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crivitz, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
These were very tasty! I didn't know what kind of "oatmeal" to use, so I used old fashioned oats, since it's what I had in my cupboard. I also couldn't find light molasses, but used mild tasting molasses. The result was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
No need to buy brown sugar...make it any shade of brown you want by adding molasses to white sugar as you need it. I like the idea of oatmeal "flour" to make these cookies. VG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I subbed dates. We thought it tasted great. Like oatmeal cookies, but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I've made several Oatmeal and several molasses cookies but this cookie just didn't turn out well. The cookie needed less molasses, more sugar and more oats I think. I'll keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is the third time that I've used this recipe and I love these cookies! They are so versatile and tasty no matter what I do to them. I always used all whole wheat flour, and once I used apple sauce for half of the fat. I've done them with or without nuts, but never with the raisins. No matter how I make them, they are so good and don't last long with my 3 kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States