WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I added 1 teas ginger, 2 tsp cinammon, and cooked 1 cup raisins in 1/2 cup water. everything else is the same. baked for 14 minutes for a crispy cookie, 12 for soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by September123
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
These cookies were great. Growing up I wasn't much for molasses, but as an adult I thought I might give these a try and now I have to say molasses is yummy. The oatmeal adds a nice texture. I cooked them for 9 minutes in a convection oven and immediately removed them from the baking sheet after. I am so happy I did that because they turned out softer and chewier. Also I used egg beaters instead of whole eggs, that cut back the calories even more, and it didn't compromise the taste. My family thought they were buttery and delicious. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by September123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I agree w/ some other reviewers that these are like "muffinettes" since they are raised more like muffins than cookies. They only add-in I used was a walnut half pushed into the bottom of each cookie. I also added 1 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice to the dry ingredients for a very lightly spiced taste. The simple muffin-y part had a lovely, retro, homey taste and texture, and they are very quick and easy to make. I ate way too many of them while they were warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This is my go-to recipe for oatmeal cookies. I'm so glad I don't need to wade through dozens of oatmeal cookie recipies any more. They do well if you add 1/2 a cup of chocolate chips. I use sorghum instead of molasses and add some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Absolutely the best oatmeal cookie ever...I'm 75 now and I've tried them all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I love these cookies! I used 1/4 less sugar and dark brown molasses, because that's what I had on hand. Dark walnuts added to the yummy "earthy" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Excellent- I halved the recipe, added 1 tsp allspice and used butterflavored shortening. On a few I made them into oatmeal cookie sandwiches with a thin layer of vanilla frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Very yummy with wonderful deep flavour! I think next time I may try adding some cinnamon and cloves though, since I generally like a spicy oatmeal raisin cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
delicious !!! I love these cookies !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theauthenticnut
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
These were really yummy! I left out the walnuts and raisins and instead I used mini chocolate easter eggs to make bird's nests. I would make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theauthenticnut

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States