WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Very yummy with wonderful deep flavour! I think next time I may try adding some cinnamon and cloves though, since I generally like a spicy oatmeal raisin cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
delicious !!! I love these cookies !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theauthenticnut
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
These were really yummy! I left out the walnuts and raisins and instead I used mini chocolate easter eggs to make bird's nests. I would make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theauthenticnut

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I will give this 5 stars I did some changes for health reasons. 1. 1/2 c. splenda & 1/2 c. brown sugar(sugar) 2. 3/4 c. unsweetened apple sauce(shortening) 3. 1/2 c. egg beaters Also I added 1 c. shredded carrots and 1/2 c. pineapple tiblets and more cinnamon(because we like it) The cookies were great almost like a mini muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Awesome recipe. I added nutmeg(1/4 tsp), ground cloves(1/4 tsp), cinnamon (1tsp), 1/2 cup of raisins and about 3/4 cup of Nestle's dark chocolate chips. I also used all butter and Grandma's Molasses: Robust. Baked for 10 min. These were some of the best cookies i have ever made! and I have made alot :) Thanks Diana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These turned out wonderful even with the few tweaks I had to make, since I discovered I no FLOUR once I had already started to make these! I used Bisquick in place of flour, didn't need the baking powder, baking soda or salt since the Bisquick already has it! Used a little less sugar too. Also I used half butter flavored shortening and half coconut oil. These came out so delicious and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Used cranberries instead of raisins, pecans instead of walnuts and added 1/2 cup chocolate chips. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
These are a very "oaty" oatmeal cookie. They could easily be made into what I call "hippy cookies" if you use some wheat flour, flax seeds, dried fruits, twigs, bark, etc. I added chocolate chips to mine. :) Don't get me wrong -- I love me a good hippy cookie as much as the next Alica Silverstone but I'm just sayin'... I also used butter in place of the shortening. I used regular molasses -- all 5 tablespoons worth and it was not in any way overpowering or really even noticeable with the chocolate chips to hide it. I assume if you add spices instead, it would also drown out the molasses (if that's even an issue for you). I baked mine at 325 in a new, higher-end convection oven and watched them closely. I pulled them out before they were 100% done and let them sit about one minute before transferring to the cooling rack carefully. They stay soft this way. It's a nice recipe but for my money, I think Oatmeal Chip Cookies from this site is the best oatmeal cookie recipe if you're looking for a crowd pleasing hit. These are a nice healthier twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Good cookie but I preferred without the oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Awesome cookie! I was looking for something between a ginger snap and oatmeal raisin & it definitely fit the bill. I added some cloves, ginger and cinnamon to spice it up, as well as replaced the shortening fully with applesauce and it was great. Chewy and yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States