WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Great recipe! I tried making it healthier and substituted about 1/2 the shortening for one mashed avocado (or half a large avocado) then filled the remaining 3/4 cup with shortening. Also I didn't have molasses so I used 3 Tb honey and 2 Tb agave (I said I was sort of trying to make it healthy didn't I? lol) and they turned out great! Nice and soft. I'd advise mashing them down a little bit so the inside cooks better. If you want a crunchier outside drop by teaspoon (the uneven edges cook faster and get crunchy leaving the inside nice and soft). If you want the cookies very soft roll in ball form first. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by razzy17

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
These are always well received! I cut back a bit on the oats though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Delicious simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Batter tastes good. Follow directions on placing teaspoonfuls on pan. I didn't resulting in one big cookie. trying a second batch with a little bourbon added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Made these a while ago and will make them again. They were a good for something different at a cookie swap I attended. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I chose this recipe for the oatmeal and the molasses. Oatmeal, a healthy ingredient. Molasses, a flavor we don't find every day. Nuts and raisins added a lot, too. The cookies are great! I appreciate the cook that shares. Thank you, Diana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
very yummy! My son doesn't want the raisins added next time, and my husband said it needed butterscotch chips. I cannot please everyone, but I will make it again. Next time I'm going to add dehydrated apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessiclm
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I don't like raisins so I added a 1/2 cup of chocolate chips instead. I also added 1/2t of cloves and 1/2t of cinnamon (I could have added more because I can barely taste these spices). I used pecans instead of walnuts. These are light and fluffy. The cookies don't spread on the cookie sheet so you can fit a lot on one sheet. This recipe made 52 cookies for me. These are yummy (maybe not mind blowing where I want to call a friend to tell her about them) but definitely a nice twist on just regular oatmeal cookies. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
these are great. I used home made sorghum and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Garrett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Made this yesterday. Used butter instead of shortening and had great results. One mistake - I substituted choc chips for the raisins and the taste combination doesn't work out. I'm still giving this recipe 5 stars as with raisins the flavors would be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States