Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This dish is simple and fantastic! I used all the vodka and reduce the red pepper flakes by half. My husband is a very fussy eater and he can't stop eating it. I served it over mini penne pasta and it really captured the sauce perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
LOVED this recipe! i didn't add the can of water, I like the sauce a little thicker. I did add some parmesan on the plate, and that was a great addition. I like it spicy, so 1/2 tsp pepper flakes was great, but if you're serving this for a crowd, maybe cut back the pepper flakes a little. Roma tomatoes do make a big difference. I didn't use fresh herbs, wonder how much better that would have been?? Terrific sauce, went awesome with penne. Mangia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicheleMary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is a really good sauce to play with, and add or take away what you like. I used Fire roasted diced tomato and garlic. (new from Hunts) reduced the vodka to 1/2 c. did NOT add water, and fresh grated parm. Also, I served it over 3 cheese tortellini. OMG! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AIMEELVS2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Tried this for the first time and it came out excellent!! instead of the plum tomatoes, i used diced tomatoes like another reviewer and it was excellent!! My husband couldnt stop raving about it...definitely a spouse pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
My family loves this recipe. I added more garlic and I diced the prosciutto. I also used diced tomatos and added some sugar to cut the acidity. I add diced onions for addition favour. I simmered the dish after adding the tomato products for 2 hours before adding the cream and this blended the flavours better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buffalochef
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
We are going to play with this a little more, but, as a basic, its terrific. I changed it to 2 servings, and it made ......3. I used fresh Romano cheese, and my wife wished I'd have used dry parm.... I blended it in the pan to smooth it a little, used no water and 15 oz tomato sauce to 15 oz, diced tomatoes. Added a smidge of sugar. I had this sauce recently in a las vegas hotel and it was so smooth...... and in denver, its very chunky. we likw the smooth texture a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buffalochef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Grade A+ sauce. The amount of prosciutto makes this a costly recipe though. It's well worth the cash for a special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Czak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Wow!! Easy and good! I used all the vodka and all the pepper flakes. I did not have any heavy cream but I used whole milk and non-dairy creamer. OMG faux-paux but it worked. I can't wait until I have real cream..YUM I served it over meat stuffed shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
One word . . .Yum! I made this but substituted the prosciutto with chicken. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vodka Sauce

See how to make simple and spicy, creamy tomato sauce with vodka.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States