Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
This was pretty bad. I didn't add the prosciutto, but I can't imagine that it would help. It seems like a tad bit much vodka in this recipe, most others only use 1/4 or 1/3 cup vodka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I have tried this recipe and it came out fabulous. I can't understand how the other Person can mess up such a great sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
My family loves this recipe. I added more garlic and I diced the prosciutto. I also used diced tomatos and added some sugar to cut the acidity. I add diced onions for addition favour. I simmered the dish after adding the tomato products for 2 hours before adding the cream and this blended the flavours better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
LOVED this recipe! i didn't add the can of water, I like the sauce a little thicker. I did add some parmesan on the plate, and that was a great addition. I like it spicy, so 1/2 tsp pepper flakes was great, but if you're serving this for a crowd, maybe cut back the pepper flakes a little. Roma tomatoes do make a big difference. I didn't use fresh herbs, wonder how much better that would have been?? Terrific sauce, went awesome with penne. Mangia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicheleMary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
The family enjoyed this recipe immensly. I also added a bit of sweetex to counteract the acidity and didnt have fresh herbs, so used dried. Chopped some mushrooms and added those for bulk. Substituted the cream with low fat creme freche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
came out too watery, should not have added water. Did not taste anything close to good vodka sauce recipes. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This dish is simple and fantastic! I used all the vodka and reduce the red pepper flakes by half. My husband is a very fussy eater and he can't stop eating it. I served it over mini penne pasta and it really captured the sauce perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buffalochef
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
We are going to play with this a little more, but, as a basic, its terrific. I changed it to 2 servings, and it made ......3. I used fresh Romano cheese, and my wife wished I'd have used dry parm.... I blended it in the pan to smooth it a little, used no water and 15 oz tomato sauce to 15 oz, diced tomatoes. Added a smidge of sugar. I had this sauce recently in a las vegas hotel and it was so smooth...... and in denver, its very chunky. we likw the smooth texture a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buffalochef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Wow!! Easy and good! I used all the vodka and all the pepper flakes. I did not have any heavy cream but I used whole milk and non-dairy creamer. OMG faux-paux but it worked. I can't wait until I have real cream..YUM I served it over meat stuffed shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Grade A+ sauce. The amount of prosciutto makes this a costly recipe though. It's well worth the cash for a special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Czak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vodka Sauce

See how to make simple and spicy, creamy tomato sauce with vodka.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States