Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I give this an 11 on a scale of 10!! FAST DISH, easy to make. I added fresh oregano, and 1 shallot minced, and only 1/2 of red pepper flakes. I thought I had enough for leftovers...NOT. I will have to make a double batch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This sauce is awesome! I had never made a real sauce from scratch before, so I was a little scarred. But it is easy and comes out delicious. The first time I made this I used chicken instead of the prosciutto. It was delicious the night I made it, but the chicken did not keep well and after the first day, it was not as good. I made it again now this time with the prosciutto. I didn't have chopped, so i got the sliced meat from the deli and just cut it up. I ended up using about a half a pound tho, and that was more than plenty. Other changes, I wasn't able to find fresh parsley or basil last minute, so I used dried, and that worked fine as well. I did not use quite as much tho.... probably about a little more than one table spoon. And the red pepper flakes, I only used a half a teaspoon and it was still plenty spicy. I also used a bit more garlic than the recipe called for, but I like things garlicky. One more thing. I let it cook much longer than the recipe said. I had it going for probably 2 and a half hours. I like the sauce nice and thick so I let it reduce down a lot before adding the cream. It came out much better the longer I had it on. 2 and a half was plenty long enough. This sauce went off great with everyone I gave it to. I even gave some to a friend who has his own pizza joint/Italian food place(and this is in Brooklyn) and he LOVED it. So, if i have the Pizza Guy's approval, its probably a good thing. I certainly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Outrageous!! I and everyone who I make this for, loves this sauce. I don't change a thing. Better than any vodka sauce I've ever had. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tivoli, New York, USA
Living In: Pawling, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
My son loves this pasta sauce. I always make a double batch and freeze half for a quick meal. Has always turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I thought this recipe was outstanding. I used 1/2 pound of proscuitto and it was plenty. My only addition was about 1/2 cup of finely minced onion sauteed with the proscuitto. I was tempted to increase the amount of red pepper flakes as my family enjoys spicy food. I'm glad I didn't. Pefect as is! So much tastier than many vodka sauce recipes. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Delicious!! I added onion and served with garlic bread. But mushrooms would be great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Made this about 5 times. Always a big hit with my family. I personally add a little grated parmesan cheese into the sauce while it's heating up. It adds a nice little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asollers

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I'm only giving this 4 stars because of the changes I made: using light cream (crème légère) and chorizo - which is already very spicy - in place of the proscuitto. But otherwise it was an excellent base recipe that I would definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I substituted ham and salami for prosciutto and it worked wonderfully (not that prosciutto wouldn't be great, but I don't believe it's necessary). Fantastic recipe overall - definitely a part of my repertoire now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
family did not rave, would not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tesa Dazy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vodka Sauce

See how to make simple and spicy, creamy tomato sauce with vodka.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States