Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Best Pasta Sauce! Mine didn't turn out tht spicy, BUT it WAS delcious! I added more spices like basil,organo,ect; and it turned out excellent on my gnocci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Sauted onions cause I didnt have pancetta, etc. Still tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I give this an 11 on a scale of 10!! FAST DISH, easy to make. I added fresh oregano, and 1 shallot minced, and only 1/2 of red pepper flakes. I thought I had enough for leftovers...NOT. I will have to make a double batch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This sauce is awesome! I had never made a real sauce from scratch before, so I was a little scarred. But it is easy and comes out delicious. The first time I made this I used chicken instead of the prosciutto. It was delicious the night I made it, but the chicken did not keep well and after the first day, it was not as good. I made it again now this time with the prosciutto. I didn't have chopped, so i got the sliced meat from the deli and just cut it up. I ended up using about a half a pound tho, and that was more than plenty. Other changes, I wasn't able to find fresh parsley or basil last minute, so I used dried, and that worked fine as well. I did not use quite as much tho.... probably about a little more than one table spoon. And the red pepper flakes, I only used a half a teaspoon and it was still plenty spicy. I also used a bit more garlic than the recipe called for, but I like things garlicky. One more thing. I let it cook much longer than the recipe said. I had it going for probably 2 and a half hours. I like the sauce nice and thick so I let it reduce down a lot before adding the cream. It came out much better the longer I had it on. 2 and a half was plenty long enough. This sauce went off great with everyone I gave it to. I even gave some to a friend who has his own pizza joint/Italian food place(and this is in Brooklyn) and he LOVED it. So, if i have the Pizza Guy's approval, its probably a good thing. I certainly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Outrageous!! I and everyone who I make this for, loves this sauce. I don't change a thing. Better than any vodka sauce I've ever had. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tivoli, New York, USA
Living In: Pawling, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
My son loves this pasta sauce. I always make a double batch and freeze half for a quick meal. Has always turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I thought this recipe was outstanding. I used 1/2 pound of proscuitto and it was plenty. My only addition was about 1/2 cup of finely minced onion sauteed with the proscuitto. I was tempted to increase the amount of red pepper flakes as my family enjoys spicy food. I'm glad I didn't. Pefect as is! So much tastier than many vodka sauce recipes. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Delicious!! I added onion and served with garlic bread. But mushrooms would be great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Made this about 5 times. Always a big hit with my family. I personally add a little grated parmesan cheese into the sauce while it's heating up. It adds a nice little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asollers

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I'm only giving this 4 stars because of the changes I made: using light cream (crème légère) and chorizo - which is already very spicy - in place of the proscuitto. But otherwise it was an excellent base recipe that I would definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vodka Sauce

See how to make simple and spicy, creamy tomato sauce with vodka.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States