Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I thought this was terrible...watery and flavorless. Maybe I did something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Coughlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Excellent recipe! Don't listen to the people that negatively rate this, especially ones that don't add a major component (prosciutto). I find it essential to use the whole plum tomatoes and crush them right before adding them to the pot. It changes the consistency of the sauce. I saute half an onion before I add the prosciutto, and add about 2 cloves of garlic to the recipe. I also let it reduce for about 30-40 mins on a slow simmer to intensify the flavors. After I cook the pasta to al dente, stain, etc.... I put the pasta back in the vessel I cooked it in, add the sauce, and let the sauce and pasta combine on low heat for about 10 minutes stirring regularly to keep it from sticking. It's delicious, and everyone I've made it for is either really nice, or loves it. I'm going with the latter, because they always ask for the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Very good sauce. Instead of prosciutto, I added 1-2 t. of bittersweet smoked paprika. The basil and Italian parsley were from my garden. I also added about 1/2 c. of grated parmesan while cooking. My husband also loved it. This sauce could easily be poured over chicken or other meats or vegetables and baked. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caitlyn1290
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This is my go to Vodka sauce, I've been making it for years. I wont even get it anywhere else because it just isn't as good. I throw the prosciutto, garlic, parsley, basil, salt and pepper into the food processor to break everything up nice and small and use a can of crushed tomatoes instead of doing it myself. I also leave out the 8oz of water. It's got the perfect amount of spice! I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlyn1290

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I love this recipe, my only complaint is that as my first try at them, it has ruined me for other vodka sauces! It's the prosciutto. This is easy and delicious, and the recipe makes a lot, I'd say 6-8 servings and I eat plentiful portions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
DELICIOUS - FOLLOWED RECIPE EXACTLY OMG!! MY FAMILY LOVED IT CAN'T WAIT TO HAVE IT AGAIN!! I DID ADD SOME GRATED CHEESE TO THE SAUCE WHILE IT WAS STILL SIMMERING -WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Awesome sauce, all will love it, use a good vodka and let sit over night with crushed red pepper flakes, I strain that out prior to adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaChef127

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Accord, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Unless you want to drink your sauce you need to add more tomatoes and less water. This is like a tomato juice. It does have very good flavor though.. Needs to be thickened up badly and it will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This ia a terrific sauce. The prosciutto makes the difference, giving a rich meaty flavor. I keep the pepper flakes and vodka at the same level, but skip the salt altogether since the prosciutto brings in enough by itself. I also run it through a blender at the end to smooth it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gourmet in Townsend

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This is fabulous! I doubled it, thinking 4 servings might not be enough. Eight servings left us with enough for two more meals. I didn't use quite as much Prosciutto, just six ounces and about 4 ounces of bacon. My picky 18 year old daughter LOVED it! Saving this recipe to do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vodka Sauce

See how to make simple and spicy, creamy tomato sauce with vodka.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States