Viva Madrid Spanish Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
You CAN"T leave out the dates on this recipe. People need to just make recipes and rate them. This was great just as written. Thank you Shelbi Bites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Not really worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Skipped the dates and added tomatoes...also salmon instead of chicken. ..all at home liked it much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I had just used up the last of my dates so I added some raisans. Really, all you are looking for is the sweetness and the raisans worked fine. This was good, but not enough zing for me. I would add more Thyme, likely 1/2 tsp and double the chili powder next time. I serve it with Spanish Rice and Black beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I used this recipe as a base. I changed things up quite a bit, but the flavor was incredible. I put the seasonings on the chicken and baked it instead of breading and frying. I used more dates than the recipe called for as well. I served this over wild rice but I think brown rice would be best since there are so many flavors going on. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Surprisingly great! The sweetness of the caramelized onions with the dates is nice and with the spiciness of the chili? Yumm! I used Serrano ham instead of bacon (also 6 slices). I didn't dredge the chicken either, which is probably why the sauce was very thin/watery. The taste was still quite good though! I only used two chicken breasts as well. I didn't use any thyme. I think that this is a four and half star recipe with my modifications. I am giving it a five star rating due to the changes that I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made this for book club last night - should have tried it first, but didn't. I didn't think it was very tasty and neither did the guests - followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Thank you for this recipe. It was melt in your mouth chicken and kids loved it. Didn't add dates though, and instead of garlic powder I ground a 1/2 tsp of cumin seeds....adds great flavour. I am using this recipe as a guide to cook marinated chicken breast for dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Yum! Yum! Yum! This dish is really good. We finished it off in no time flat. We all really enjoyed it. I almost skipped the dates because I didn't have any, but decided at the last minute to run to the store. So glad I did. The house smells fantastic while it simmers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Hi ALICELUCILLE I was wondering if you could email me the original recipe you learned in spain. I am very interested. My email is ositos524@yahoo.com Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States