Viva Madrid Spanish Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
almost the recipe that I learned to make in my 4 yr stay in spain, but they didnt use any flour to coat the chicken, just browned the chicken in olive oil, then poured white wine over, with the garlic etc. tomatoes was the last ingred. if more liquid is needed, they used water......but use lots of garlic and onions, never used chilli powder or bacon, I like the orginal, that I learned in Spain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Great recipe! My 8 year old couldn't get enough of it. I skipped the dates, substituted the chili powder for paprika, the thyme for basil and didn't add the garlic powder, because it already had 4 cloves of garlic. Turned out awesome. Served over wild rice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAXIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walldürn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This was very, very good. I had a lot of peppers from my garden, so I used them in here too. I didn't have dates, so I subbed fresh figs. I did not use all of the chili powder for picky kid. I also seasoned the flour before dredging. I will make this again. Thanks for the post, fivestardramamama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2007
We LOVED this. I didn't really know if I liked dates or not, almost omitted them, but thought, don't be a wimp! So I followed the recipe as written, it is SO worth it. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I *heart* this recipe. I've made it several times, and shared the recipe with my family. I even made it as a big sit-down dinner on our family ski vacation last year and not a drop of anything was left. I made "Spanish Rice II" from this website to accompany it. It also freezes and reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donut1130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This was nice but lacked a little flavour. I added some paprika and a bay leaf which lifted it beautifully. Used prunes instead of dates as neither myself or my husband are fond of them. I think half a cup of white wine in place of half a cup of stock would also add to this dish. Will have to try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
i also left out the dates. My husband and son both really enjoyed this dish, except that my husband isn't a big fan of all the bacon and onion bits in the end (he has texture issues). Next time, I will complete the sauce, strain it, and then add the chicken again for his sake. I also added a bit of cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I have no idea why people said this would take so long, it didn't take me any time at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Since my husband and I don't like dates, I didn't use them, and this dish still was great! I had a hard time with the breading staying on the chicken while it simmered in the broth mixture. But, that really didn't effect the whole of the dish. This was great the day after, too. The sauce was thicker and had a fuller, richer flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
A truly unique way to do chicken. I cut down the garlic to 3 buds and no powder, and it was delicious. I'll be doing this one again, soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
This was a different and visually attractive way to serve chicken. It would be a great holiday meal servd with rice pilaf and salad with oranges/avocados. Too often my chicken dishes have an Italian flavor. Great change/easy/unique. As a cook who could ask for more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States