Viva Madrid Spanish Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This was nice but lacked a little flavour. I added some paprika and a bay leaf which lifted it beautifully. Used prunes instead of dates as neither myself or my husband are fond of them. I think half a cup of white wine in place of half a cup of stock would also add to this dish. Will have to try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
this was amazing! a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbi bites

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
A truly unique way to do chicken. I cut down the garlic to 3 buds and no powder, and it was delicious. I'll be doing this one again, soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Prep time was longer than expected. Overall the flavor was good, this item would go well with chicken fried rice, eggroll and sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Great recipe! My 8 year old couldn't get enough of it. I skipped the dates, substituted the chili powder for paprika, the thyme for basil and didn't add the garlic powder, because it already had 4 cloves of garlic. Turned out awesome. Served over wild rice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAXIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walldürn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
This was a different and visually attractive way to serve chicken. It would be a great holiday meal servd with rice pilaf and salad with oranges/avocados. Too often my chicken dishes have an Italian flavor. Great change/easy/unique. As a cook who could ask for more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Since my husband and I don't like dates, I didn't use them, and this dish still was great! I had a hard time with the breading staying on the chicken while it simmered in the broth mixture. But, that really didn't effect the whole of the dish. This was great the day after, too. The sauce was thicker and had a fuller, richer flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Outstanding. I did this recipe with leg/thigh quarters and cooked them a little longer. It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MR. YO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rutledge, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Very tasty! I left out the dates too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
My husband liked this recipe pretty well. He thought the sauce needed to be thickened to serve over the chicken. Also, he would have liked a bit more spiciness- some kind of kick. I didn't care for it too much, but then I am pickier and was doubtful of the dates to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States