Viva Madrid Spanish Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This was very, very good. I had a lot of peppers from my garden, so I used them in here too. I didn't have dates, so I subbed fresh figs. I did not use all of the chili powder for picky kid. I also seasoned the flour before dredging. I will make this again. Thanks for the post, fivestardramamama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
made this dish twice now, boh times its been a hit, i serve it with spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orgotloth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
We LOVED this. I didn't really know if I liked dates or not, almost omitted them, but thought, don't be a wimp! So I followed the recipe as written, it is SO worth it. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
i also left out the dates. My husband and son both really enjoyed this dish, except that my husband isn't a big fan of all the bacon and onion bits in the end (he has texture issues). Next time, I will complete the sauce, strain it, and then add the chicken again for his sake. I also added a bit of cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I have no idea why people said this would take so long, it didn't take me any time at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This recipe is awesome as is! It does not take long to cook at all. Not sure what those other people were talking about. I don't recommend modifying this recipe at all! This was sooo good! My hubby loved it too! I served mine with Spanish Rice and corn salsa. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This was a great recipe and a totally different flavor than what I've been cooking. The only differences that I made was seasoning the flour (just added garlic powder), omitted the dates, and substituted green onions for regular onions (boyfriend doesn't like onions) and added a dash of onion powder. I also added just enough baker's sugar to not make it sweet, but tie the tastes in together. Great recipe, will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Very good tasting. I'm just learning how to cook and this was a good starter recipe. I did give up on mincing the garlic though and grabbed the store bought minced garlic. I served it with yellow rice and peas. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This really does take a while. I wish I had chopped everything the night before and cooked the sauce at the same time as the chicken. It would have been nice to have a large pan, as I had to cook each chicken breast individually. I thickened the sauce by mixing 2 tbs corn starch with 4 tbs cold water, then mixing it with the sauce. That worked well. I also used half chicken broth and half white wine instead of chicken stock. The sauce really wasn't impressive, for all the work it took. I would leave out the bacon. It was OK, not great by any means. I would make it again if it didn't take over 2 hours to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I *heart* this recipe. I've made it several times, and shared the recipe with my family. I even made it as a big sit-down dinner on our family ski vacation last year and not a drop of anything was left. I made "Spanish Rice II" from this website to accompany it. It also freezes and reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donut1130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This dish smelled great while cooking, but the taste disappointed me. The flour coating made the outside too soggy. I don't know what I would do to improve it. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Luppy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States