Viva Madrid Spanish Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Wonderful. I doubled it for a big family dinner, and though it felt like a little too much work at the time, the end result was amazing. Yes, even the dates. I think the touch of sweetness they gave actually made the meal. Had a touch of indian flovor to me without being overpowering like indian cuisine can sometimes be. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I substituted raisins for the dates b/c I didn't have dates on hand, but I think the sweet taste of the raisins worked out wonderfully! I would recommend using a little less garlic than the recipe calls for and using raisins instead of dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicianr67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Soooooooooooo good!! Even the leftovers were wonderful. Followed recipe, only added smoked paprika, because it's my new obsession. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This was immensely immensely perfect!! My boyfriend followed the recipe exactly, and we're both atheists, and we kept wanting to say Grace because it was so delicious. The sauce ends up with a very sweet-savory flavor, and the chicken was very tender. In the picture of the recipe, there are peppers, but we didn't add peppers, and I wouldn't! We had it with cheap yellow rice from the store, which was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Delicious. If you left out the dates, you should try it with them--they add a wonderful sweetness. Served with Basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Holy cow, this is SO good! I made it tonight for dinner, and I was praying that there would be leftovers for lunch tomorrow! I'm only giving it 4 stars because if I had made the recipe exactly as stated, it would have been bland. My suggestions are to (at least) double, if not triple the amount of spices that you use. I used about 6 cloves of garlic, a tablespoon of garlic powder, 1/4 tablespoon of chili powder, and a tablespoon of ground thyme. I also seasoned the flour that I used to dredge the chicken. In order to avoid any texture problems (boyfriend doesn't like "chunks" of onions), I did the 10 minute simmer on the sauce, then strained w/ a slotted spoon into my food processor. After a few spins, I put it back into the pan and continued on. This made the sauce slightly thicker than I imagine the actual recipe result is. I also added the juice from a can of diced tomatoes, and used 1 Tablespoon of corn starch in cold water to thicken the sauce more. I served with plain rice--the sauce had enough flavor to stand alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
almost the recipe that I learned to make in my 4 yr stay in spain, but they didnt use any flour to coat the chicken, just browned the chicken in olive oil, then poured white wine over, with the garlic etc. tomatoes was the last ingred. if more liquid is needed, they used water......but use lots of garlic and onions, never used chilli powder or bacon, I like the orginal, that I learned in Spain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This is one of the best meals my husband has made for me. We only used 1 onion and it was awesome. With or without rice is good too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This was very, very good. I had a lot of peppers from my garden, so I used them in here too. I didn't have dates, so I subbed fresh figs. I did not use all of the chili powder for picky kid. I also seasoned the flour before dredging. I will make this again. Thanks for the post, fivestardramamama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
made this dish twice now, boh times its been a hit, i serve it with spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orgotloth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States