Viva Madrid Spanish Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Good with whole dates on the side, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was so good! My husband and I loved it. I didn't have enough chili powder, so I used 1 tsp chili powder + 2 tsp "Essence" that I had made from Emeril's recipe. I also used 1 1/2 cups chicken stock + 1/2 cup white wine. It was sort of like a spicy chicken marsala. The dates were perfect - I was a little unsure about them but will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This was easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Loved it. Kids couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
The company last night raved about this dish. Very juicy with a lovely sweetness of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Snyder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
My husband loved this dish. I'm not much for fruit with meat and that's the reason for 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was pretty tasty. I left out the dates and the chili powder - substituted for paprika. It didn't look anything like the picture which appears to show a drumstick... anyway, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hedder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I really liked this! (My husband gave it a 3 so we averaged.) I used 6 chicken tenderloins and didn't dredge in flour, which I think is just a matter of preference and either way works fine. I had a hard time getting the bacon to brown - I think next time I will start with a dry skillet when I start browning the bacon. I added a few more dates and really loved the sweetness that they impart! The sweet/spicy/bacon interplay was a winner! (On a side note - I made this while my husband made the Spanish Rice II that others served with this dish. It's also a fabulous recipe, but I think I would rather have this chicken with plain or mildly flavored rice. There was too much going on between the two dishes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleanor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
WOW! This was so good, I will definitely make this again! Dates aren't everyone's favorite, certainly not mine, but when they're cooked in this meal it really adds a nice flavor I wouldn't want to leave out. There's no need to alter anything in this recipe because its wonderful as is. But a few peanuts might add a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Kept everything the same except the chili powder... I added some to the simmering liquid and sprinkled some on top of the chicken. I also cooked it at a medium-high heat, so it only took 25 min for prep and cook time. Served with Spanish Rice II from this site, and both are great reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States