Viva Madrid Spanish Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Simple and delicious! I halved the recipe and used 4 dates and 4 slices of bacon. I found the bacon flavor to be overhwelming, so I would use 4 bacon slices and 4 dates for the entire dish. The sauce was also very sweet, so I added balsalmic vinegar which balanced the flavors. Also, I subbed oregano, cilantro/parsley for the thyme. And finally, I paired with simple saffron rice which soaked up the strong flavors. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I made this for my family last night and they loved it! I did add 1 tablespoon of Spanish paprika, a handful of Spanish olives and some sliced mushrooms. It turned out like an old-fashioned, rustic Spanish dish, reminiscent of my grandmother's cooking. Because it was so rich, I served it with plain white rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pinky

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was a little hearty for my taste. The bacon and onions lent it a very rustic flavor. My son enjoyed it more than my husband and I did. One thing, prepare to spend way more time than 35 minutes making this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I didn't add dates & used turkey bacon instead of regular bacon. However, this mild flavored chicken was a hit with my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My husband loved this! Pounding the chicken breasts is a great way to cook them evenly and tenderly, so don't skip that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was absolutely delicious! Even my 3 yr old liked it. Follow recipe except omitted the garlic powder -- it didn't need it. Served over plain rice. Will definitely make this again and again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Good with whole dates on the side, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was so good! My husband and I loved it. I didn't have enough chili powder, so I used 1 tsp chili powder + 2 tsp "Essence" that I had made from Emeril's recipe. I also used 1 1/2 cups chicken stock + 1/2 cup white wine. It was sort of like a spicy chicken marsala. The dates were perfect - I was a little unsure about them but will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This was easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Loved it. Kids couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States