Viva Madrid Spanish Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This dish was fabulous! The layers of flavors are sublime. My husband and I loved this. I only made one small procedural change. I fried up the bacon first to eliminate all the grease. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Knapp Costa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I used 6 boneless chicken thighs instead, and since I had no chili powder I created my own with 1/2 tsp each of ground cayenne pepper, cumin, garlic salt, paprika and oregano. This turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was one of the single best recipes I've tried from All Recipes. I did not add the dates and substituted paprika for the chili powder to make it more authentically Spanish. SO DELICIOUS. I'll be making this one again and again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
¡Viva Madrid! This chicken is fantastic! A great pick for a romantic dinner. I omitted the onions and doubled the garlic, as the King doesn't like onions in his dishes - it was still amazing. A very elegant and classy meal for those who like the meat & fruit combo. Make sure to cut up the bacon into thin strips and cook it BEFORE you add it with your dates to the prepared onion & garlic.->Right before you mix in the broth (step 2). You don't want to end up with all that extra cooked bacon grease in your final sauce. Plus the bacon browns nicer on its own. I also threw in some bay leaves & a pinch of paprika. ¡Buen Provecho! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Simple and delicious! I halved the recipe and used 4 dates and 4 slices of bacon. I found the bacon flavor to be overhwelming, so I would use 4 bacon slices and 4 dates for the entire dish. The sauce was also very sweet, so I added balsalmic vinegar which balanced the flavors. Also, I subbed oregano, cilantro/parsley for the thyme. And finally, I paired with simple saffron rice which soaked up the strong flavors. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I made this for my family last night and they loved it! I did add 1 tablespoon of Spanish paprika, a handful of Spanish olives and some sliced mushrooms. It turned out like an old-fashioned, rustic Spanish dish, reminiscent of my grandmother's cooking. Because it was so rich, I served it with plain white rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pinky

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was a little hearty for my taste. The bacon and onions lent it a very rustic flavor. My son enjoyed it more than my husband and I did. One thing, prepare to spend way more time than 35 minutes making this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I didn't add dates & used turkey bacon instead of regular bacon. However, this mild flavored chicken was a hit with my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My husband loved this! Pounding the chicken breasts is a great way to cook them evenly and tenderly, so don't skip that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was absolutely delicious! Even my 3 yr old liked it. Follow recipe except omitted the garlic powder -- it didn't need it. Served over plain rice. Will definitely make this again and again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States