Viva Madrid Spanish Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was one of the single best recipes I've tried from All Recipes. I did not add the dates and substituted paprika for the chili powder to make it more authentically Spanish. SO DELICIOUS. I'll be making this one again and again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
¡Viva Madrid! This chicken is fantastic! A great pick for a romantic dinner. I omitted the onions and doubled the garlic, as the King doesn't like onions in his dishes - it was still amazing. A very elegant and classy meal for those who like the meat & fruit combo. Make sure to cut up the bacon into thin strips and cook it BEFORE you add it with your dates to the prepared onion & garlic.->Right before you mix in the broth (step 2). You don't want to end up with all that extra cooked bacon grease in your final sauce. Plus the bacon browns nicer on its own. I also threw in some bay leaves & a pinch of paprika. ¡Buen Provecho! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Simple and delicious! I halved the recipe and used 4 dates and 4 slices of bacon. I found the bacon flavor to be overhwelming, so I would use 4 bacon slices and 4 dates for the entire dish. The sauce was also very sweet, so I added balsalmic vinegar which balanced the flavors. Also, I subbed oregano, cilantro/parsley for the thyme. And finally, I paired with simple saffron rice which soaked up the strong flavors. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I made this for my family last night and they loved it! I did add 1 tablespoon of Spanish paprika, a handful of Spanish olives and some sliced mushrooms. It turned out like an old-fashioned, rustic Spanish dish, reminiscent of my grandmother's cooking. Because it was so rich, I served it with plain white rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pinky

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was a little hearty for my taste. The bacon and onions lent it a very rustic flavor. My son enjoyed it more than my husband and I did. One thing, prepare to spend way more time than 35 minutes making this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I didn't add dates & used turkey bacon instead of regular bacon. However, this mild flavored chicken was a hit with my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My husband loved this! Pounding the chicken breasts is a great way to cook them evenly and tenderly, so don't skip that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was absolutely delicious! Even my 3 yr old liked it. Follow recipe except omitted the garlic powder -- it didn't need it. Served over plain rice. Will definitely make this again and again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Good with whole dates on the side, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was so good! My husband and I loved it. I didn't have enough chili powder, so I used 1 tsp chili powder + 2 tsp "Essence" that I had made from Emeril's recipe. I also used 1 1/2 cups chicken stock + 1/2 cup white wine. It was sort of like a spicy chicken marsala. The dates were perfect - I was a little unsure about them but will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Aussie Chicken

Saucy baked chicken with cheese and bacon.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States