Viva Madrid Spanish Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This would be 5 stars all the way if you halve the amount of chili. I didn't, and therefore it has a star deducted. We could tell that underneath the overwhelming spiceness, there was a delicious recipe. The dates truly add to the dish! Don't skimp out on them. It really made this a special dish, and one we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This is by far my favorite dish that I have made. The flavors are so complex and they keep your palate busy! But the best thing, it keeps you wanting more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jc21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly... didn't hold up to all the other rave reviews. The flavor just wasn't there. I have NEVER understood why recipes tell you to bread and fry the chicken and then stick it back into the sauce just to lose the crunchy coating. DO NOT do it... either skip the flour (as another review suggested) or cook the chicken all the way (possibly in another pan). The recipe calls for two onions; you can get by with just one medium to large onion. Before adding the ONE onion cook/fry the bacon first then add the onion. The bacon will never get crispy if you cook it with the onion. Add the garlic at the end to avoid getting a bitter taste. Feel free to add more herbs or spices (another review suggested peppers) to bring in more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I didn't know what to expect, but the sauce turned into a glaze that was really tasty. I did add extra seasoning, but I normally do anyway to my tastes. Someone mentioned issues with the flour sticking. One tip, soak the chicken in salt water the night before. Boil chicken for about 15 minutes. Lay out to dry. This way the chicken is soft and thoroughly cooked. With the chicken dried the coating sticks better. Other than that I followed it exactly. The dates added a nice contrast to the chili powder. I added double the broth at the end to create a sauce with the drippings/part of glaze not on chicken. We served over rice. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I made this with Spanish Rice II. It was a great combination. The sauce for this chicken was very good. Next time I will thicken it up a little more. Otherwise, this was a delicious meal and even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
sauce was good, not a fan of the bacon. Maybe if it was cooked ahead of time, or only a small amount added. This was overwhelming and fatty. IMO way too many ingredients for what the finished product turned out to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This dish was fabulous! The layers of flavors are sublime. My husband and I loved this. I only made one small procedural change. I fried up the bacon first to eliminate all the grease. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Knapp Costa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I used 6 boneless chicken thighs instead, and since I had no chili powder I created my own with 1/2 tsp each of ground cayenne pepper, cumin, garlic salt, paprika and oregano. This turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was one of the single best recipes I've tried from All Recipes. I did not add the dates and substituted paprika for the chili powder to make it more authentically Spanish. SO DELICIOUS. I'll be making this one again and again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
¡Viva Madrid! This chicken is fantastic! A great pick for a romantic dinner. I omitted the onions and doubled the garlic, as the King doesn't like onions in his dishes - it was still amazing. A very elegant and classy meal for those who like the meat & fruit combo. Make sure to cut up the bacon into thin strips and cook it BEFORE you add it with your dates to the prepared onion & garlic.->Right before you mix in the broth (step 2). You don't want to end up with all that extra cooked bacon grease in your final sauce. Plus the bacon browns nicer on its own. I also threw in some bay leaves & a pinch of paprika. ¡Buen Provecho! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States