Virginia Clise Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
what is the history of these rolls? Does anyone know? As a native Virginian, I'd really be interested to know and I cannot find it on the net. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Hudnall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
First of all - yum! I scaled down the recipe quite a bit - yielding exactly 12 rolls. I followed the measuring instructions of another reviewer who scaled it down as well, turned out fabulous. The only thing I did different was that I used butter in the place of shortening. I added a little more melted butter than the scaled down recipe originally called for (instead of 1/4 cup, I used about a 1/2 cup). Very easy to make if you are willing to take the time - well worth all the effort it takes! I baked them exactly 20 mins and as soon as I took them out of the oven, I brushed the tops of them with melted butter - amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Woohoo! These are wonderful. I changed the servings to 10, followed the recipe exactly other than using my KA , and made large sandwich type rolls which turned out perfectly These are exactly what I was looking for. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I just pulled these out of the oven, they turned out FANTASTIC! I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
These are dense, and quite bland. But oddly, the taste grows on you after that first bite... I think this might be better toasted, after being made in a loaf perhaps...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
These were very good. Soft and a great taste! The only problem I had was getting them to brown. Next time I will add an egg wash to the tops to get them to brown. For some reason the oil on top did not do the job. A very good recipe indeed and will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Some loved it and some didn't...a little bland but turned out nicely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made these today for Thankgiving dinner. I wish I hadn't. They were very "heavy". Not fluffy at all. Not a very good taste. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colbiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I'm giving this 3 stars only because I scaled the recipe down and therefore the problem might have been my own mistake, but since I have scaled many recipes down, I doubt it. These rolls were bland and boring, they had absolutely no taste. They were also not light and fluffy like I think rolls should be, they would be good with Chile or stew to sop up some of the liquid. But unless I use it that way, I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
These. were. AWESOME! I scaled it down, used butter instead of shortening and even added some whole wheat flour in place of all-purpose..and it still turned out. I have always had problems trying to add WW flour. But this one was awesome! So, if you consider my alterations as still abiding by this recipe...I say 5 stars, this recipe rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States