Virginia Apple Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was just delicious and, as the submitter states, quick and easy! I prepared the recipe with the ingredients exactly as written, choosing not to sub any brown sugar as other reviewers suggested. I wanted to see for myself how the recipe stood on its own. I was not at all disappointed. I think it would have been easier and neater to mix the batter up in a separate bowl, then pour the batter into the baking dish, but this is a minor issue. I spread the chopped apples over the entire surface of the batter, rather than confining them to the center as the recipe directs, and the "pudding" (which is cake-like) had evenly distributed apples throughout. I served this with vanilla ice cream and drizzled with warm caramel sauce. Mmmm, sweet autumn comfort food at it's best. Hubby must agree, as he went back for a large second helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
An old-fashiioned recipe that is easy, good and substantial. Reminds me of grandmother's dessert that we used to pour cinnamon flavored milk or cream over. Works best when you mix the apples into the batter - not just in the middle and remember to use cooking apples! Some others are bland and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This was okay and very easy, but why pour the apples in the middle? Mine stayed there! I'll stir it next time to even out the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
Very quick and easy, however really quite unimpressive. The flavor was a bit bland, better with ice cream, but just okay. Not outstanding, I'm sorry to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
I was looking for a quick and easy apple dessert recipe and this is it. I brought it over to a friends house and it was a huge hit! There was even some stiff competition...a Cheescake Factory strawberry cheesecake... but this won hands down. Serve it warm with some ice cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I didn't care much for this recipe. It was a little flour-y tasting. Serving it with vanilla ice cream made it much better but I will not make this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Very easy and delicious! I mixed the batter in a separate bowl and poured it into a 9 inch pie dish then layered the sliced microwaved apples on top. I used half brown sugar and half white with a tsp. of vanilla in the batter. I spinkled the top with cinnamon and sugar and it smelled wonderful while it was baking! Definitely serve warm with vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
Oh heavens! Was this ever better than I expected! And easy! I used two large apples and put it in a large flat corningware pan... I don't think that's the way it was intended.. but OHHHH my! What a nice taste! The apples were perfect after about 5 minutes total in the microwave! Oh yummy! Thanks for the recipe.. it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
I was pleasantly pleased! What an easy and tasty dessert. It is a great fall treat both warm and sweet. Pass this one on. You have to try it! Yumm yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
Perfect comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States