Virginia Apple Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
This recipe was pretty good. I followed the other reviewer's advise and added 1/2 cup dark brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar, instead of 1 cup white sugar. I also added 1 tsp. of vanilla extract, 1 tsp. of lemon extract. A sprinkle of allspice and a sprinkle of ginger to the batter. It turned out to be quite flavorful. However, I usually like my cobbler to be more crusty and not so spongy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGHEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
You must try this with 1/2 dark brown & white sugar,add cinnamon & vanilla extract to the batter and mix the apples up in the batter. Who needs ice cream? This dessert is rich and heavenly and worth every splendid calorie!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Yummy! This was like a very moist southern dump cobbler. It would be wonderful with any fruit...peaches, blueberries, cherries, pears, plums, blackberries, raspberries. This is my "cobbler" recipe from now on. And sooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
Very quick and easy, however really quite unimpressive. The flavor was a bit bland, better with ice cream, but just okay. Not outstanding, I'm sorry to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
Perfect comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
An old-fashiioned recipe that is easy, good and substantial. Reminds me of grandmother's dessert that we used to pour cinnamon flavored milk or cream over. Works best when you mix the apples into the batter - not just in the middle and remember to use cooking apples! Some others are bland and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This was okay and very easy, but why pour the apples in the middle? Mine stayed there! I'll stir it next time to even out the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I didn't care much for this recipe. It was a little flour-y tasting. Serving it with vanilla ice cream made it much better but I will not make this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
Oh heavens! Was this ever better than I expected! And easy! I used two large apples and put it in a large flat corningware pan... I don't think that's the way it was intended.. but OHHHH my! What a nice taste! The apples were perfect after about 5 minutes total in the microwave! Oh yummy! Thanks for the recipe.. it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
Absolutely delicious!! I have made this twice now and everyone raved about it. They all asked for the recipe. Excellent with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States