Virginia Apple Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
It was great! Made it for work, needed an extra dessert for a "Fall Favorites" menu real quick. I used extra apple, mixing it into the batter. I also added an egg. Served it with a little fresh cream drizzle dusted with a bit of cinnamon, wonderful...Could also make it to a brunch menu...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Beware: This is one of those recipes where you can eat the whole pan by yourself, ha-ha. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good, I did change the recipe a little bit for high altitude. I preheated the oven to 400 degrees. For the batter I used 1/2 cup dark brown sugar plus a 1/4 cup white, 1 tablespoon more of milk and about a 1/4 teaspoon less of baking powder. The butter, flour, cinnamon and salt I kept the same amounts. The apples I sautéed in a pan with some butter, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon cardamom, and 1/4 teaspoon salt until soft. I stirred the apples in the batter like others recommended put it in a glass pie pan and baked for 25 min. I served it with a drizzle of heavy cream, (very good) whipped cream would be very good too. It was fast I I liked it a lot, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
my family calls this cobbler . For generations it's been one of the first recipes our girls learn to make. We use the same amt. of butter , no matter what size pan , then merely increase everything else in even increments , for different pan sizes . I use self rising flour & skip the baking powder & salt . It works with any fruit , fresh,frozen or canned and the only ones that need precooked are those like apples that won't get done in the allotted baking time . As for seasoning , use whatever's appropriate for the fruit you're using , same goes for sweetening the fruit itself ...none for canned , your preference for the fresh . Once you figure out your own spin on this recipe , its virtually fool proof !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIBRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
So simple and good! My husband and I really enjoyed it. I took it to a family dinner and everyone ate it up. I followed the directions as stated excluding the apples being applied to the batter. I spooned them over the entire batter than baked. Once it came out I made a bread pudding glaze to put over the top! It was EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amm2007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
this is great for a beginner baker like me. It tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parakiss

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Delicious!! My hubby thinks it would be extra good with berries instead of apples - just skip the microwaving step. I love that you can always have the ingredients on hand. It would be good with canned pears or peaches - again skip the microwave step. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Very easy and delicious! I mixed the batter in a separate bowl and poured it into a 9 inch pie dish then layered the sliced microwaved apples on top. I used half brown sugar and half white with a tsp. of vanilla in the batter. I spinkled the top with cinnamon and sugar and it smelled wonderful while it was baking! Definitely serve warm with vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This is so easy even I got it right first time around, it is a lovely light pudding delicious with Vanilla Ice Cream it reminded me very much of Eve's pudding think it might be much the same recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Changes (preparation mostly): I baked apples in the oven for 10 minutes, instead of microwaving them. Also, I mixed everything in a separate bowl, and then poured batter into the baking dish. Finally, I spread apples evenly around the dish, and not only in the center. It was easy, quick, economical and delicious! My fiance had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States