Virginia Apple Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly for this dish - and while the flavour was excellent, the middle of the cake was not cooked thoroughly and the edge was getting overcooked. Next time I make this - and there likely will be a next time given the speed with which you can make this dessert - I will use a larger dish than the "small baking dish" dish called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Simply delicious and so easy! I made this just as the recipe is written and I really enjoyed it. But next time, I think I'll add just a couple drops of vanilla extract and a couple tablespoons of brown sugar. I may also add a little extra apple and cinnamon. Anyway, the consistency is wonderful and it kind of just melts in your mouth. Great dessert for the Fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This is delicious, simple, buttery goodness. Ive officially replaced my applecake recipe that Ive used for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This recipe was absolutely delicious...I made it exactly as the recipe, except I did cut down the sugar to 3/4 cup. It was perfect for our tastes. I did use golden delicious apples, and they worked out great. My kids are begging me to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
We really liked this. Because I tend to be messy, I mixed the batter in a bowl and then poured it into a baking dish. I followed other reviewers and spread the apple all over the batter. In taste and texture this reminded me of the steamed apple pudding my aunt used to make, but took a 1/4 of the time to cook. Thankyou Laurie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Ifound this recipe simple, and a winner with all 5 of my children. We sprinkled it with icing sugar on serving and it was delicious. I spread the apples over the base of a baking tin and poured the sponge mix over...yum....will be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
It really didn't have much flavor. would have preferred a crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larico Harley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
It was great! Made it for work, needed an extra dessert for a "Fall Favorites" menu real quick. I used extra apple, mixing it into the batter. I also added an egg. Served it with a little fresh cream drizzle dusted with a bit of cinnamon, wonderful...Could also make it to a brunch menu...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Beware: This is one of those recipes where you can eat the whole pan by yourself, ha-ha. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good, I did change the recipe a little bit for high altitude. I preheated the oven to 400 degrees. For the batter I used 1/2 cup dark brown sugar plus a 1/4 cup white, 1 tablespoon more of milk and about a 1/4 teaspoon less of baking powder. The butter, flour, cinnamon and salt I kept the same amounts. The apples I sautéed in a pan with some butter, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon cardamom, and 1/4 teaspoon salt until soft. I stirred the apples in the batter like others recommended put it in a glass pie pan and baked for 25 min. I served it with a drizzle of heavy cream, (very good) whipped cream would be very good too. It was fast I I liked it a lot, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States