Virginia Apple Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Excellent Apple Pudding, and very easy to put together! I added vanilla essence because I love the stuff, but I followed the recipe besides that and it was great. Thanks Laurie Nanni!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is an easy delicious dessert! The pudding stands on its own but the ice cream is a nice addition. A real keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Quick and perfect for that "need a little something" urge. I used half the sugar, and would go less than that even. Added nutmeg to the apples and a teensy tiny bit of more butter. I will do it again, and add the vanilla ice cream like another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was really amazing. Everyone raved about it and I really loved it too, even though something of this texture is not normally my bag. It is almost like a bread pudding, so the title is appropriate. I used about 2.5 cups granny smith apples and I mixed them throughout the batter. I also mixed in a separate bowl then poured into greased pan. Upon removal from oven, I spread caramel sauce over the top and left it sit for a while. Really, really good. I will definitely make this again. It would be great for a brunch or a breakfsst pot luck. And so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly for this dish - and while the flavour was excellent, the middle of the cake was not cooked thoroughly and the edge was getting overcooked. Next time I make this - and there likely will be a next time given the speed with which you can make this dessert - I will use a larger dish than the "small baking dish" dish called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Simply delicious and so easy! I made this just as the recipe is written and I really enjoyed it. But next time, I think I'll add just a couple drops of vanilla extract and a couple tablespoons of brown sugar. I may also add a little extra apple and cinnamon. Anyway, the consistency is wonderful and it kind of just melts in your mouth. Great dessert for the Fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This is delicious, simple, buttery goodness. Ive officially replaced my applecake recipe that Ive used for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This recipe was absolutely delicious...I made it exactly as the recipe, except I did cut down the sugar to 3/4 cup. It was perfect for our tastes. I did use golden delicious apples, and they worked out great. My kids are begging me to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
We really liked this. Because I tend to be messy, I mixed the batter in a bowl and then poured it into a baking dish. I followed other reviewers and spread the apple all over the batter. In taste and texture this reminded me of the steamed apple pudding my aunt used to make, but took a 1/4 of the time to cook. Thankyou Laurie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Ifound this recipe simple, and a winner with all 5 of my children. We sprinkled it with icing sugar on serving and it was delicious. I spread the apples over the base of a baking tin and poured the sponge mix over...yum....will be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States