Virginia Apple Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I just made this recipe and I quite like it! I made it exactly as called for in the recipe (wait, no...I added a tsp of vanilla to the batter). It is easy and very yummy and I haven't even added ice cream yet. The only thing I'd change really is the amount of apples. I think next time I'll increase it to 3 cups. Also, I used an 8 x 8 square casserole dish and that was the perfect size. Try this recipe and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Perfect! Simple, classic old-fashioned dessert. A very, very moist pudding cake that is mildly spiced. I mixed the ingredients in a bowl instead of the actual baking dish and then transfered over and distributed the apples evenly over the top. This worked out great and the apples were spread out and in every bite. Served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and caramel syrup. There were 4 of us here for dinner and all 6 servings were gone by the end of the night. :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Loved it, easy to make. Used out of date apples and dark sugar and tasted lovely. Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I've been looking all over for this recipe. Every time I move the recipe seems to get lost. I learned this recipe when I was cooking in a restaurant; and had to pare it down for at home. For those who complain the apples stayed in the middle, you pour the apples down the center of the pan. I use a glass 13X9 pan. I usually go down one side and up the other as opposed to dumping them in the middle in a pile. That's how I was taught. We served it warm with vanilla ice cream in the restaurant. I also learned to melt the butter in the pan, then add the flour mixture minus the butter, then add the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamstown, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is an all-star in my recipe box. I've made this many times as stated but today I changed it up a little. Used 1/4 C. butter, 1/4 C. white sugar, 1/2 C. dark brown sugar and added 1/4 C. golden raisins and 1/4 C. dried cranberries. Consistency was more like moist bread pudding & the taste is terrific!!! Love the original recipe and just thought I'd pass along these variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Excellent Apple Pudding, and very easy to put together! I added vanilla essence because I love the stuff, but I followed the recipe besides that and it was great. Thanks Laurie Nanni!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is an easy delicious dessert! The pudding stands on its own but the ice cream is a nice addition. A real keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Quick and perfect for that "need a little something" urge. I used half the sugar, and would go less than that even. Added nutmeg to the apples and a teensy tiny bit of more butter. I will do it again, and add the vanilla ice cream like another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was really amazing. Everyone raved about it and I really loved it too, even though something of this texture is not normally my bag. It is almost like a bread pudding, so the title is appropriate. I used about 2.5 cups granny smith apples and I mixed them throughout the batter. I also mixed in a separate bowl then poured into greased pan. Upon removal from oven, I spread caramel sauce over the top and left it sit for a while. Really, really good. I will definitely make this again. It would be great for a brunch or a breakfsst pot luck. And so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly for this dish - and while the flavour was excellent, the middle of the cake was not cooked thoroughly and the edge was getting overcooked. Next time I make this - and there likely will be a next time given the speed with which you can make this dessert - I will use a larger dish than the "small baking dish" dish called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States