Virgina's Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
it's tuna salad,you can pretty much add whatever your preference is.i do mine with hard boiled eggs,sometimes chopped onions,bell pepper and celery.each finely chopped.of course,i use the pickled relish,and mayo.given 5stars cause this is pretty much the way i make mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I used chopped garlic dills instead of sweet pickle relish and after mixing up the ingredients, I did add more mayonnaise to make it wetter. I also added a little onion powder/garlic powder/fresh ground pepper. This was a nice quick tuna salad for the boys' lunches--it filled two small hoagie rolls and three sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
My two minute version. For two of us, I just use one 5-oz can of tuna, still use one egg, adjust the other ingredients. I microwave the egg in a covered bowl at 50% power for one minute, then crush with a fork and mix with other ingedients. Literally ready in two minutes, really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Easy to prepare and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Excellent entree for a light lunch. Prepared this recipe with minor tweaks; used 3 6.5 oz packages of tuna rather than canned(better texture),added 1 egg (more substance), diced small red onion (more crunch), 1 T Dijon mustard (the heat is nice). Loved it. Will do again. Thanks, Kristiev
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I stepped it up a notch. I added diced red onion, lots of celery for the crunch. Instead of sweet relish I opted to add dill or sometimes my favorite dill pickels diced up and my other version...Giuliano jalapeno spread ( it's really a relish)! WOW. Or...chili flakes. Let the flavors mesh for several hours or overnight. I've served in a hollowed our red bell pepper. Even diced the tops into the salad. Great on crackers too. Toasted bread is a must! I don't use the egg, but I do use Costco's Kirkland Albacore and chill the cans ahead. I keep all in the fridge for fast cool salads or sandwiches. Also, another variation....diced cucumbers (persian), dried dill.....the sky is the limit. Even added tabasco at times, or lemon juice. Have fun...let the family rate them or have several and give your guests rate them. I did this for an all day bbq as lunch snacks. SoCal so we try to make it healthy. I also use light Best Foods mayo. You can do all the above and also add small shell pasta. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This Tuna Salad is the best, i've been making it this way all my life and Im in my 40's...instead of celery I use onion. The only way to eat it in my family. 3 cans of tuna needs alot more mayo then 3tbs...I eye it "no measurement".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Very nice tuna salad recipe, but maybe there's a misprint here - the recipe says to use 3 (6 ounce) cans of tuna. Well, seeing as I really didn't have any army to feed and there's no way that 3 Tbsp. of mayo would make any sense I used only one can. I eyeballed the amount of chopped celery and left out the relish (personal preference). I added a little salt, pepper, garlic and onion powders. The addition of the hard boiled egg was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is the best if you just want that old fashioned tuna salad...reminds me of what I grew up on! An old standby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This is a pretty good tuna salad recipe. Are the ingredients right? 3 cans of tuna? That would make about 6-8 sandwiches depending on how much you put on the bread. Only 1 egg and only 3 T's of mayo for 3 cans? That seems off. Either way, I made it with 1 can of tuna upped the mayo and kept all else the same. Tasty with the egg and a little different from my normal tuna go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States