Virgina's Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Very nice tuna salad recipe, but maybe there's a misprint here - the recipe says to use 3 (6 ounce) cans of tuna. Well, seeing as I really didn't have any army to feed and there's no way that 3 Tbsp. of mayo would make any sense I used only one can. I eyeballed the amount of chopped celery and left out the relish (personal preference). I added a little salt, pepper, garlic and onion powders. The addition of the hard boiled egg was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
A hard boiled egg in tuna salad is such a nice addition. I like to add chopped onion and green pepper as well as black pepper and garlic and onion powder to the mixture for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
Very easy and simple, but a little plain for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This is a great base recipe and just needed a little tweaking to make a great sandwich. I had to add another egg, it just needed more and I only used 2 cans of tuna and had to put three times the mayo it was too dry with only the 3 Tbl. I used dried celery in the jar and added some chopped onion per son's request. I was heavy handed with the pickle relish too. This made a good lunch though, so thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2001
Great, traditional Tuna Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
I liked the addition of the egg. This is a great tuna salad recipe. Thanks Kristie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
I USED THIS RECIPE WHEN MY FUSSY SONINLAW CAME TO VISIT. hE THOUGHT IT WAS WAS WONDERFUL. i THOUGHT IT WAS QUICK EASY, AND INEXPENSIVE THANX. MEANEST JEAN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2000
This is exactly the recipe I was looking for. "Like mom used to make!" Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
Really enjoyed the recipe, just like mom used to make and that is what i was looking for!! Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I stepped it up a notch. I added diced red onion, lots of celery for the crunch. Instead of sweet relish I opted to add dill or sometimes my favorite dill pickels diced up and my other version...Giuliano jalapeno spread ( it's really a relish)! WOW. Or...chili flakes. Let the flavors mesh for several hours or overnight. I've served in a hollowed our red bell pepper. Even diced the tops into the salad. Great on crackers too. Toasted bread is a must! I don't use the egg, but I do use Costco's Kirkland Albacore and chill the cans ahead. I keep all in the fridge for fast cool salads or sandwiches. Also, another variation....diced cucumbers (persian), dried dill.....the sky is the limit. Even added tabasco at times, or lemon juice. Have fun...let the family rate them or have several and give your guests rate them. I did this for an all day bbq as lunch snacks. SoCal so we try to make it healthy. I also use light Best Foods mayo. You can do all the above and also add small shell pasta. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States